First Impressions


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
January 17th 2009
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My first week in Comayagua, Honduras has been truly amazing, although challenging at times. I am teaching the 1st grade at Escuela Bilingue Honduras. The school is very nice, especially for this area. The teachers have been so great and welcomed me right away. I believe there are around 40 teachers here altogether, but only about 10 are international.

I was so excited to meet my class the first day, but not even half as excited as the kids were to meet me apparently. The first day I walked into the class I was completely swarmed by kids. By the end of the day, I had been asked a million questions about Canada, my family, my favourite colour, pets...everything you can imagine. They constantly tell me they love me, that they are happy that I am here and I get hugs from them everyday. It's so nice to walk into the class every morning and here good morning Miss Janet, which is pronounced Meez Janet.

As for my living arrangements, I have a great apartment that is basically on a compound. In the first house there is Annie, Morgan and her Honduran husband Rocky. The second house is where I live with Katie and Peter. The third house has two Iranian sisters and a new girl named Leann. There are other teachers who don't live in the houses, some are wives of the US Army Base guys and one actually bought a house here and has no plans on ever leaving.

There is only one nice area in town which is the town square. Only the main roads are paved, the rest are dirt roads. There are more taxis than donkeys and horses which is nice when you need a ride. Dogs are constantly wandering the streets here, but they don't bother with people at all. I love hearing the Spanish music blaring when you walk down the streets, or from the neighbours.

Everyone has been so friendly and I haven't felt the culture shock I thought I would. Surprisingly, I got here and just fit right into the lifestyle. I am not quite sure how that happened, but I am glad it did. it doesn't surprise me to see men with big guns standing at the banks and in the grocery stores. I know that it is dangerous here and that it isn't safe to walk at night and I also know the chances of being robbed are pretty high. Every teacher at my school, except one, has been robbed and at gun point. I have been told on several occasions that my chances of being robbed are much smaller because most people actually think I am from here. Apparently I look latina and so they assume I live here, which means I don't have anything good to steal because I am not a Gringa. It reminds me of the part in Russell Peters movie when he says "Indiano...no Indiano!" They look at me strange here when they find out I am not fluent in Spanish and am definitely not from here.

I think my favourite day here has to be Saturdays. I go to the market, listen to the music, mingle with the people that fill the streets and buy fresh fruit grown in the area. Then of course there's Saturday nights, which is always drinks at the bar with some of the other teachers. Usually Katie, Annie, Charles and myself. Last week I went to this awesome bar called Villa Rial, I had such a good time. The men here are incredible dancers and i made sure to dance with some of them. A friend of mine named Brian told his friend that I was Canadian and omg you'd think i made his night. His name is Walter and I danced with him most of the night and he is a HUGE fan of Canada and Canadians. I am pretty sure him and Brian are coming out with us tonight.

I wish I could take more pictures of everything here, but it is a little dangerous to walk around with a camera, taking pictures. I prefer not being robbed, so I think I will wait a while until it calms down a little bit. Not that things will change dramatically overnight, but there is alot going here with the government and there is alot of tension in the area. I will write more about that another time though.

Anyways, I am off to the market and then to find school supplies...which should be interesting.

Advertisement



18th January 2009

OMG!!!!!
I'm so glad that you're enjoying it down there. However if you wanted to have us scared shit less for you, you've accomplished that, at least for me anyway. I still say your crazy, but i guess that makes me a little crazy for wanting to visit you after reading your blog. I know, makes no sense. Still I'm so happy to hear that your enjoying it. I just hope you're not going to become a permanent resident there. I know the kids love you but we do too. Miss you! Hope to hear from you soon.
22nd January 2009

Aww it wasn't meant to scare anyone, just being honest about the living situation. Of course you are crazy! Why else would we get along so well? haha
14th February 2009

Que Paso Rubia
Hola Janet, espero la estes pasando bien en Comayagua, Honduras. Hey Jay, I saw you mom the other day and she told me about this site. So here I am at work checking thinks out. I think nice site to check. Any way I am glad that you're adjusting well to the life style there. As you can see life is very lay back in those small countries very simple but are always happy and for the most part very respectfull. Any way I will checking this site more often now. Please becarefull overthere.
17th February 2009

Hey! Yes, things are going great here. Couldn't be happier actually. It's odd how fast things move int his small slow paced town. I feel like I am constantly on the go...but really not getting anything done. The weekdays are extremely busy with classes and the weekends are a lot of fun hanging out with the other teachers and traveling. I am definitely looking forward to the rest of my time here. Glad you checked out my blog, and yes, I will be careful here. I am doing alright so far. So, I guess that's a start,

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb