Merry Christmas


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Utila
December 24th 2004
Published: December 24th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas from the Bay Islands of Honduras!!

I'm still in the Bay Islands getting certified for scuba diving. I'm feeling a little sick, and there is a whole chapter of the scuba diving book that basically says not to dive when your sick (mostly because of congestion making it difficult to equalize underwater) but I'm not feeling that bad, and I'm not congested at all...so I'm just going to go for it (don't worry mom, I won't push it). Yesterday I was in the classroom for 8 hours, today is the pool, and then the next to days are open water diving (and then off to Guatemala)...nothing much more to report.

I did meet another traveler from the states basically doing the same thing as me(but going in the opposite direction) he and I really hit it off. We got into my little theory about friendships on the road (i think I talked about this in one of my other blogs). He agreed that there is some sort of weird chemistry (for lack of a better word) going on, people basically use each other for company. It's like "i want to hang out with you tonight so that I have a good time", most of these "friendships" are a lot more selfish then ones you have at home...but everyone knows this, and is cool with it. I dont know, it's weird to me, it is like a weird game of "speed-friendship-dating" or a bunch of "friendship one night stands", but anyways I'm rambling...
(dont worry...I'm not getting all wussy on you guys - I just need to revert back to my days in middle school where you make friends based on who as the best nitendo games...yah I'm talking about you chad (j/j))

It is beautiful here; except for the sand feas, and constant dampness in the morning...it covers you like a wet blanket. But spending Christmas away from home...and somewhat alone...well, it is not the same. I hope all is well back in the states.

A few random quotes from a really good book that I have just started reading (For Tibet, With Love - A beginners guide to changing the world).

"Grant me the serenity to accept things that I can not change. The courage to change the things I can. And the wisdom to know the difference"

(Tibetan Buddhists)- "Their faith is not in a God outside themselves who will change their circumstances for them - but is a faith in the qualities within themselves that they have to develop in order to live happy in this place. So everyday the focus is on peace of heart and mind and the development of compassion."

Tomorrow I should be seeing whale sharks, I'm pretty excited!

-Chris

(send me christmas pics)

oh yah, everything is basically closed tomorrow so I doubt I will be able to call or email or anything like that until the next day...damn these 3rd world countries...where is my cell phone!)

Advertisement



24th December 2004

Chris, We want to wish you Feliz Navidad and Merry Christmas. We think of you so far away and not with any family. We hope that you and your fellow travlers will make this a memorable Christmas as you travel through the world. Please know that we love you and wish you health and safety throughout your travels. Love, Mom and Dad - Mom
24th December 2004

Merry Christmas
hey chris-just wanted to wish you a merry christmas and let you know we are thinking of you...we are in columbus right now...spending christmas with erika,...who is the other couple in columbus that left comments?!?! take care...ho ho ho...nathaniel and erika - Erika and Nathaniel
24th December 2004

Merry Christmas
Well wish i could give ya a call and tell you this, but since you don't have a phone this will have to do..Oh and about your middle school days, it could also be the person who has Dr. Dre and Snoop Dog..hahah Merry Christmas man. Miss ya and Love ya(not in a gay way) you know what i mean.. Jason - Jason
25th December 2004

Merry Christmas
Chris....Merry Christmas. We are here in Ohio visiting Keri and Chris and having a great time. Madison says "hi". This travel blog has been very funny to read. I have been cracking up. HAVE A BLAST!!! - Melissa
30th December 2004

Merry Belated Christmas and Happy New Year
Not only was I good at Nintendo games, but I destroyed you in ALL SPORTS. Owned you in basketball, crushed you in football, hit homeruns in baseball and then High School came and you beat me every once in a while (J/J). Schwalm was a much better athelete in high school. - Chad Van Horn

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb