Honduras By Private Jet


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Utila
November 13th 2007
Published: December 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Private PlaneMy Private PlaneMy Private Plane

Before take off have you ever seen the pilot kicking the tires?
My plan had been to head out to some of the distant southern cayes off of Belize. However, I met more and more people who had either just come from there or had tried to get there and all told similar stories. Because it is low season, either the water taxi's aren't running, or, you can get to the islands but you'll be the only one there. Not good when most diveboats require a minimum of four to put out to sea. An English/Finnish couple came to my rescue telling me about a cheap airline on which I could fly to Honduras then boat across to the Bay Islands. World class diving and busy all year round. This sounded like a perfect way to spend the last week or so of my jaunt.

I didn't have a ticket but on arrival at the airport I discovered that I would be one of only five passengers on the plane. I had a bit of a chuckle when we were led across the tarmac to a little twin propellor contraption. Surely they were having a laugh. That thing can't be used for international flights.

Sitting right behind the pilots, the view
FelixFelixFelix

The dive boat mascot.
of the worlds second largest reef was short-lived. I could hear them getting more and more frantic on the radio and we soon hit bad weather. We bounced and skidded onto the runway at San Padro Sula in a fierce thunderstorm. It was supposed to be a short stop before I flew on to La Ceiba.

Two hours later I was still sat waiting in the airport. Eventually I was called down into the airline office where I sat and waited even longer. The pilot then explained that La Ceiba airport had been shut for five days because of the rain. I would have to come back at six am to try again. It was now eight pm.

"Is town close by?" I asked. "Is there somewhere I can stay?"
" Don't worry. You can come with us. The airline will pay". Replied the pilot.
So off we went, the pilot, co-pilot and me, to a really nice hotel, the best I have stayed in all year. I had my own suite and got a great meal.

We were scheduled to take off next morning at 6.15 but we didn't actually get to the airport unti 6.05.
Typical House on UtilaTypical House on UtilaTypical House on Utila

All the houses are on stilts because the Bay Islands sit so low in the water.
I didn't worry that the plane would go without me. It couldn't, seeing as the pilots were in the taxi with me.

Thankfully the weather had eased a little and we made the short hop to La Ceiba. This time I had the plane to myself. It makes you feel a bit special when you see the ground crew rushing up to the plane to open the doors and get the baggage when its just for you. Probably the closest I'll ever come to being a celebrity.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb