wrecked


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning we bid adios to our new dive friends from Tampa and promptly passed out for a while. I spent much of the afternoon sorting through the hundreds of photos we have amassed so far. We finally became productive around 3:30pm and decided to test out the sonic tags and tracking equipment (hydrophone). I pretended to be the turtle by stuffing the tag down my bathing suit and swimming around while Noel listened to me pinging from the dock. Turtle impersonation may be a new avenue to explore for my future, I certainly don’t move too terribly fast in general. Actually, my mom calls me a turtle all the time, it’s practically my middle name.

Captain Kevin came around with a couple of tanks to tell us we were going diving. I felt game, so we hopped in and he took us to the wreck of the Prince Albert. We felt pretty spoiled being the only divers there. There was a small DC-9 plane and a fishing boat down there that you can swim through around 55ft. It was a fun, unexpected, late afternoon dive with barracuda, a large, ghostly ray, some small grouper, and a giant lobster. Good things can happen when you motivate through a hangover.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb