And so it begins


Advertisement
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My journey so far has been fairly uneventful. The flight to Houston, was long, dull and cold- I do not like ac. The air hostesses reminded me of Stepford wives, mechanical in their actions, their painted faces in a permanent grin/grimace. My body and mind were confused by the 10.5 hours of sunshine during the flight- would it ever get dark again?

I braced myself for the interrogation I was led to believe I would experience at American customs. I was instead greeted by a friendly and welcoming customs officer. Probably something to do with my gender, colour of skin and glasses. In fact everyone I came across at Houston airport and my hotel were friendly and helpful. A welcomed contrast to miserable Londoners (that includes me!). My room was a sight for weary eyes- a massive kings-sized bed on which I could roll over at last three times! The shower was hot and strong. I indulged and ordered room service before turning off the lights at 9.00pm- hmm, sleep.

My wake up call and breakfast broke me from my blissful slumber at 7.00am. Dressed and showered I headed back to the airport for the final leg of this journey. I Sat next to two polite and chatty Canadians- they sounded like characters from Fargo. They both worked on oil rigs in British Colombia- their jobs sounded hard and lonely yet they were warm and happy people. I mentioned to one of them that I had travelled around South America previously. He was shocked. He had heard tales of of kidnapping and ambush from colleagues who had worked on oil plants in Ecuador. When I suggested that perhaps the land their colleagues had been working on used to belong to the Ecuadorians and that maybe these people were angry that their land and been sold (stolen) to private investors he conceded that this was a fair point. Reassured that Ecuador was not a lawless bandit county he vowed to take his fiancee there on their honeymoon.

On arrival in Roatan, I got an overpriced taxi and set off to the hostel I hoped were expecting me. I was greeted to my surprise by an English girl. Tanned and toned I instantly envied her life. She led me to my simple but clean room. I unpacked to make the place feel more homely before going out to explore the town. My first impressions of the area are mixed. It's natural beauty is undeniable yet everything else about it feels fake and false. For one, everyone and everything seems to have been Americanised. From burgers in the cafes, to American football on the tv, to trick-or-treaters on the street. The island seems like an extension of the States. I shall have to wait for my genuine Latin American experience.

Advertisement



6th November 2009

Hi Claudine, What a brilliant idea! Did'nt even know you could do such a thing. Will you be able to download photos? I look forward to receiving your next travelblog. It was such a relief to hear from you and I enjoyed reading your amusing and detailed letter. Can't wait for the next instalment! With lots of love, Mum
22nd November 2009

Greetings!
Hi Claudine, it was very good to read your news - are you still diving? or have you moved on to the next leg of the journey? I explored your map a little - what is point 3? here we had Elsa's birthday recently - can I send you photos on this blog? ... and now Christmas is very much in the air - we should definitely be coming to London this time. I was thinking of ordering a Muppet Movie for the girls and sharing my great admiration with them!!Were they a cultural landmark for you too?! hey, I've just thought you might prefer it if I send my messages "personally" in future ... don't know how much enthusiasm there is for muppets out there .... look forward to reading your news again soon, much love, Michele
27th November 2009

I bet you changed your mind
Claudine If you were there for a week and traveled around the whole island and got to meet the natives, experienced the culture and "lived the life" I am going to guess that you realized that it is far from an extension of the USA. In fact I bet you would like to go back Cheers Ernie
27th November 2009

Hey. Just left you a comment on your trip to roatan. Incredibly, I left the wrong email address. Correct one above
7th December 2009

Thanks Liv, glad your enjoying it. hope you´re well. x

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb