Coconuts.


Advertisement
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

J: So apparently the woman who frequents our dive shop calling out coconut bread was not talking about me, but actually selling coconut bread. and the witch doctor my boss went to see didn’t actually cure his dengue fever, which is too bad because half the people i know seem to have caught it. Luckily, Hannah and I escaped… kind of.
H: So after my last fiercely won battle with an ear infection (which I’m sure kept you all on the edge of your seats) I came down with… ANOTHER ear infection. I’ll spare you the gory details, suffice it to say I’ve been out of the water (and incidentally nearly going out of my mind) for about two weeks. And today was my first day back in the water! Or, rather, it was supposed to be; unfortunately, I woke up with a grotesque rash covering my entire body and had to be injected with cortisone and subsequently slathered with Aloe Vera. Although we have not been party to the many whale shark sightings that have been cropping up in the forbidden waters, we have been studying physiology, the intricacies of dive equipment, decompression theory, dive skills and the environment (in case anyone’s interested, on a boat the “head” is the toilet--now you too are on your way to divemaster status) and more. So far we have passed 7 of our 8 theory exams. And you know what, it hasn’t been all that bad, and those were only the days…
J: We’re getting to be staples about town (along w/ our freshly imported amigo, Chelsea), it’s now impossible to walk anywhere without stopping to chat along the way to more people than I’d like. I’m complaining: grocery shopping now takes twice as long. But going out to the bar is a joy, every bar in town feels like cheers. oh to be adored! speaking of fans. . . I got my first proper DJ night (anywhere), it’s at the only club in town which I’d like to think it quite a coup despite my lack of competition for the job. Actually, the fans are lacking right now and the night is terribly slow. The club used to be more of a hot spot, but it switched owners and people sort of forgot about it. My first night went quite well, the small crowd really dug the performance (thanks in large part to Hannah and her new friend from San Fran that kept the dance floor hoppin). I GOT ASKED BACK! Things didn’t come together as smoothly on the second night, but this one guy really got me riled up at the end and I put on some of my best performing ever. Mostly, I’m just hoping to get a larger crowd out in the next few weeks and see what comes of that.
H: So, what with the crazy theory we’ve been cramming into sun-addled brains, and the long nights out at the club (Jon DJs from around 9 pm-2 am) somehow during the past week we managed to run completely out of water, and the family that usually supplies us with purified agua, was mysteriously and distressingly absent. And so, on a desperate quest for something to quench our thirst we collected mangoes and felled coconuts (mostly Jon) to make drinks with. Despite our efforts (and the delicious mixed drinks that resulted) it was our neighbour Cam who saved our life with a jug of water. However, the industrious spree that began with dehydration has led jon to purchase a machete with which to open up the coconuts we collect from the surrounding trees. And so this blog ends as it began, with coconuts.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



14th July 2007

RASH!!!!
Rash, ear infections, dehydation and still you two sound like you are having a grand time down there in "never never land". What was the rash from Hannah? Love your ad campaign, J-man -- very creative. Are you still both waiter(ess)ing? Keep the info coming. Love always, Aunt Faye
14th July 2007

AHH!
Im so jealous, and glad youi guys are still having a great time out there. Enjoy the rest sooo much!, that is if you guys plan on ever leaving. Im glad to hear you (h) are getting better, and that jon jon is DJing!!! thats awesome! and all the diving which is totally wicked! To say the least I am really enjoying your blogs, and probably somewhat intending on copying you guys haha since i am endlessly jealous and impressed. Take care and keep em coming!!!
23rd July 2007

you've both lost your minds...
hey, so just to let you guys know it sounds like you've lost your minds staying there and going through what your going through!!! but at least your having fun!! HANNAH you have to be careful with medical stuff... dont aggrevate anything you might have cuz it doesnt look like they can ship you to the jewish general on request...and JON... TAKE CARE OF HANNAH! and congrats on your first real gig brother im proud of you! and sorry if sound like a nag im just a little worried is all!! but im proud of both of you... you've accomplished more in the time that you've been in Roatan than most people do in thier entire lives! I LOVE YOU BOTH !!! be safe! - Dave

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb