5 Feb


Advertisement
Haiti's flag
Central America Caribbean » Haiti » Labadee
February 2nd 2011
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I had time off until 12:45 but had immigration procedures all morning so I couldn't go out to Miami.
At immigration we received a I 95 which is similar to a passport, we have to always have it with us when we get off at any US Port. I met my roommate today, she's very nice, comes from England. There were quite a lot of interesting guests on board this week.

We were quite busy today, a Sea day is always much busier than a Port day, because the passangers have nowhere else to go that to stay on board the ship and make use of the facilities.
I started feeling a little ill today and had an early night. When I woke up the next day I was sooo ill, I went to the doctor in the morning and he booked me of for two days. He also confined me to my room which means that i'm not allowed to leave the room at all. You have to order room service in order to eat something. Because there is no fresh air in the cabins... you stay sick, the third day I still had a slight fever, the doctor booked me off again, but luckily I was not confined, i could actually go out and get some fresh air.
You start going a little crazy when you are confined to a small space for 3 days, so I couldn't wait to get back to work!

At San Juan I didn't have any time off, it was a full day’s work, but at Labadee I had the morning off and we went out to the beach. It is soooo beautiful there. Labadee (Haiti) is a private RCCL island. Some of the crew actually get off and work on the island during Port day, the waiters, bartenders, massage therapists, photographers etc.

One our friends were leaving on embarkation day (13/2) so we had a cabin party.
This cruise was very interesting! It was a charter cruise, a company called Noni booked out the whole ship. Most of the guests were from Japan and Russia so there was a big language barrier. It is not the easiest task to cut someone’s hair when they don't speak a word of English.... as i said, very interesting!

Valentine’s day was not too busy, because the company had conferences all day, so it was a bit slow at the Spa. We had a big Valentine’s day party in our crew area called Back Deck. Had so much fun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb