Indian Food and Spanish Lessons


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been a few days since my last update, apologies.

So on Sunday night, I went to the Indian Restuaurant with some people I met. They ended up inviting their Guatemalan roommates, a family that had just moved to Xela. The wife is an architect, and the husband helps the poor somehow (I didn't quite understand the details), and they have one small child. So it ended up being like 9 of us at the restaurant.

The food was quite good. It is probably one of the most expensive restaurants in Xela, which means it cost like $12 per person for a huge thing of food. I had a lot of fun. The Guatemalan family didn't speak English (well, the wife spoke a little), and the Americans i was with didn't speak much Spanish, so I ended up speaking a lot of Spanish to the family so they didn't feel left out. My head hurt at the end...

It is weird being in a place where I can go to the nicest restaurant in town and only spend $12. And I'm poor by US standards. A middle class family could live like royalty in Guatemala City, I think...

I had my first spanish class on Monday. It mostly consisted of a placement test. I did fairly well. Well enough that we are starting on the Imperfect subjunctive today. I don't have a lot more grammar to learn, mainly vocab and speaking/listening practice. From what my teacher was saying, I won't need to take the full 8 weeks of classes I had planned. We'll see.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb