Mi familia aqui


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody,
A few requests have come in for pictures of my host family and the house that I am living in so here they are. I live in a really old, but very nice house by Guatemalan standards. The house has been in Maria's (la señora's) family for over 100 years and she has never lived in a different house her whole life. María is one of the most animated and alive people I have ever met. When she is in the room it is a party! Her husband, Hugo, is a really wonderful man. I think he might be from Cuba. He actually does all of the cooking and shopping for the house since María works 10 hours a day teaching Spanish. They are a very non-traditional family and I love them for it. Normally most people here eat rice, beans, eggs, and tortillas or tamales but we eat a wide variety of foods at my house including lots of vegetables, soups, and the best tasting fruit I have ever had. I really lucked out to have them as a host family. They have several sons and daughters but only one of them lives in the house and his name is Luis. He is also a spanish teacher and lived in Boston for awhile in the past. Really nice guy but he´s hardly ever home.

The house itself is quite unique. There are two open courtyards in the house (one when you first enter and a larger one down by the bathroom). The larger courtyard has a patio table and chairs and a peach tree as well as a garden. The house is very long and off to the sides are all of the rooms. There are 5 bedrooms, one sitting room (that nobody ever goes in), one room for Hugo's work (he fixes computers), a bathroom, kitchen, and dining room. As you walk down towards the kitchen and dining room the house just opens up into the back yard where there are apple trees and all sorts of plants. Hugo actually picks herbs and flowers from the back yard and makes tea for us every night. They have a huge dog that runs up and down the hallway of the house all the time. He can go right out into the backyard any time he wants. The downside is that he never gets taken for a walk and there are so many street dogs here that he is dying to get outside. He will just sit and sniff at the door and cry all day long. He actually has a girlfriend that comes over every now and then. She´s a street dog and runs right to his bowl and eats all of his food every time she visits. They don´t get their pets fixed here so there are always a lot of dogs in heat and you will see packs of sometimes 10 dogs all after one female. It can actually be dangerous sometimes because you never know when the dogs are going to decide to fight. When we went to Todos Santos this past weekend there was a pack of dogs that followed us all the way up the street but in the end lost interest in us.

Well, I hope you have enjoyed my tour de casa. This weekend I am off to the beach to participate in a projects where we collect turtle eggs and take them to a sanctuary. Even though it is illegal here and the green sea turtle is endangered, people here collect the eggs and make drinks out of them because it is said to be an afrodesiac. Should be a fun weekend and I will finally be somewhere warm so I can´t wait. I will be writing postcards this week so if you would like to receive one I am going to need your address! Hasta luego!
Laura


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



27th July 2007

You are amazing!
Laura-I love your colorful description of people, places, experiences! You are amazing, and courageous and it is admirable how you are able stretch your limits with such ease and grace. I'm a better person for knowing you and lucky to have you as a friend :) Send me and Mar a postcard if you have time! 492 Holmes Road Pittsfield, MA 01201
27th July 2007

Thanks for the tour of your house and pics of your host family.
Sounds like you are enjoying your visit. We spent last night at a retirement party for Larry Quinn with your folks and Aunt Rosie. It was fun and we caught up with some of your phone conversation with your Mom. They are proud of you but can't wait for you to be home, parents always miss their kids! Stay well, have fun and come home soon. Love, Aunt Becky
27th July 2007

Hey Laura, It looks like you are having a great time, keep posting pictures its great to see what you are up to! Miss you. Jen
28th July 2007

Sounds amazing
Laura, I got home from the hospital and read all of your journals in one sitting. Sounds like you are having an amazing time, and the photographs are absolutely gorgeous. I wish I was in Guatemala right now!! I am so happy that you are having such a great time. I can't wait till you get back, so I can see all your pictures and hear all your stories.Love,Melissa
28th July 2007

Hey Laura-loo, I love the house you are staying in, it looks wonderful. I want you to bring the dog home with you cause he is sooo cute!! I would love to get a postcard, my address is 101 Georgia Rd., you know the rest. Have fun at the beach this weekend!
28th July 2007

Just a quick note Kerrys address is 17 Sullivan Parkway
28th July 2007

Great info on host family
Good job on the host family and their home. We now have a better idea of your surroundings. I am sure that they are really wonderful people and both you and they are lucky to have met one another, Carry on with your carrying on. Our love to you. Pete and Kathy. Sure, a post card would be nice: 107 Navajo Road,Maryville,TN,37804. Please make it very scenic so as to add to my collection. Are there post cards of the town? Thanks,Pete

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb