San Pedro La Laguna


Advertisement
Published: December 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

San Pedro La Laguna


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: at the beach 161 secs
Hello to all! I finally feel like I have found "my spot" for this vacation. I love San Pedro La Laguna. Today I rented horses and a guide. Now bear in mind this is my first horse ride in oh...at least 30 years! So we just went for 3 hours, which was enough to make me walk funny for awhile afterwards. We went to a very nice beach, Playa Dorado, that did not have any hotels hanging right over-top of it like the others. I was fascinated by the white pumice stones actually floating below the surface of the water. They just wouldn't sink. I have included a video of my hotel room just for fun. For a positive horse and guide experience, I recommend the family that runs my hotel, Hotel San Fransisco. My guide Salvador was very amiable, patient, and knowledgable. I was very inspired by the Sunday market this morning and bought lots of delicious fruit and veggies. There is a kitchen of sorts, more like a camp-style set up in the court yard of the hotel. I hope to stretch my budget quite a bit by doing my own cooking. Oh, did I mention that my room is only Q20 per day, approx. $3 US. I've decided to stay for a month and explore the area. There are villiages and towns all around the lake, some are only accessible by boat, and each has their own little specialty. After this, who knows. I think it will be time to do some WWOOFing. For now, I am very happy and feel like I am finally on vacation. No working, no school, except for weaving classes, but that's the fun part for me! If anyone is wanting to do some weaving, I highly reccomend visiting Cielo Maya next to the Restaurante Tin Tin. There you will find a very lovely (and very patient) Mayan woman named Maria who watches my every move to ensure a successful weaving experience. And just to make my week all the more interesting, the universe decided to surprise me with a chance meeting of a dear family friend from Kaslo, BC, a mere one hour drive from my town of Nelson. I had no idea she was here. Boy, were we totally stunned! What a small world it truly is. My love to you all, Netty

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb