Now it feels like a vacation!


Advertisement
Published: December 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: finally, Panajachel! 38 secs
I love doorsI love doorsI love doors

Every house here has front doors leading into a courtyard. I loved walking through the old part of Xela looking at the doors. Many were very worn like these. There was something very mysterious about them. On the otherside were families, activity, life.
Hello family, friends, and fans!
I have left Quetzaltenango and am happily situated at Lago Atitlàn. Now I feel like I'm on vacation. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy my time at Xela, but afterall, it is the second largest city in Guatemala and I am just not a city gal! Lago Atitlàn has the feel of Kootenay Lake back home. I have settled into a funky town of San Pedro La Laguna. The waterfront street is nicknamed "Gringo corner" and it feels just like someone teleported the city of Nelson here. Dreadlocks and macrame jewellery abound. Feel like having a stir-fry or falafel for lunch? No problem, just follow the scent of Nag-champa incense and you're bound to find a taste of home. What to do?...I am the tourist who doesn't really care to hang out with other tourists. I have found a nice little cafe run by a local Guatemalteca family that serves up the real thing. When you get off the boat from Panajachel, just take the first street on the right. By-pass the Rasta cafe and the Shiva-something-or-other restaurant and you will find a very friendly family running "El Cafe - The Coffee". I highly recommend
weaving lessons with Catarinaweaving lessons with Catarinaweaving lessons with Catarina

I had the honour of studying weaving with a Mayan weaver named Catarina. She came by the school regularly to sell her weavings to the students. There is so much competition for the weavers, it is difficult to make a living. I found it difficult to drive a hard bargain simply because I didn't have the heart. Catarina found her market niche by visiting various Spanish schools and selling to the students. Catarina's work is gorgeous, and she was a wonderful teacher.
it. I have been eating there for 3 days now, and still healthy. I have found a nice hotel at the top of the hill, Hotel San Fransisco. It is clean and cheap. I paid for a week for a better deal of Q20.00 per night, $2.65 US. It was recommended by an American fellow who comes here every year for a few months. So far, so good. Today I am looking for a weaving teacher. Everybody knows somebody who weaves, so it shouldn't be too hard, hahaha! Why am I laughing? Because nothing is as simple as it seems here, especially when your Spanish is not up to par. I hope you all like the photos, I think I'm getting the hang of loading them. Love to you all, Jeannette, a.k.a Yanet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My hostess  Gloria, XelaMy hostess  Gloria, Xela
My hostess Gloria, Xela

My host family in Xela. For three weeks, they made me feel welcome, fed me wonderful food, and patiently put up with my rudimentary language skills.
my gift to Gloriamy gift to Gloria
my gift to Gloria

To show Gloria my appreciation for her hospitality, I wanted to give her a gift. She had so many knick-knacks already, I decided to paint her a picture. This is my version of the Holy Mother and Child, which she seemed to really appreciate. It fit right in with her theme.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb