Tikal....finally!


Advertisement
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tikal boasts the highest ruins in Central America and I had envisioned myself there for months prior. Today was the day that I was to experience the steep temples that tower above the jungle's canopy, and it didn't disappoint!

The trek to Tikal via a/c'ed minivan was long and bumpy from San Ignacio, Belize (perhaps aided by my impatience to get there). Elias picked Mandy, Adelin & myself up at the Aguada Hotel at 7:30 am. Normally I don't eat breakfast (don't tell my Mom) but I choose to that day and it was a saving grace that I did!

Tikal is located in Guatamela, so we had to maneuver the border crossing which consisted of switching vehicles, walking across the border, paying the $17.75 US Belizean departure tax (wait, but I am coming back that day...doesn't matter). We then handed over our passports to Elias, along with $3 BZ to "grease the Guatamela immigration's palms"...huh??? When I questioned Elias on this I was informed it was to aid us in the transition so we didn't have to battle the long line. huh 2x??? There were only 2 people in this fathom lineup & since I had nothing smaller than a $10, I got away with $2.50 BZ in "grease" funds. Whatever! It didn't dampen my spirits, merely a mild annoyance and another instance where I feel taken advantage of in a small degree.

The Maya settled in the Tikal area approx. 700 BC. Temple IV was completed in 741 and is the highest at 64m. The 198 steep wooden steps up are well worth the effort as the view is amazing!! (yes, I counted on the way down).

Getting to the various structures, plazas & temples entails jungle paths which at times are quite dark as the canopy is so thick. Tikal is truly an amazing site and I was in constant awe of the sheer size and strength of human spirit that erected these beautiful works of art!

By 2:30 pm we were having lunch and it wasn't a minute too soon for me. Lunch was excellent, and I enjoyed my short rest in a hammock afterwards. The hike, stairs, late lunch, and hot, hot sun took its toll on everyone in our group, and it was a very quiet ride back to Belize. I would do it again in a heartbeat!

On the way back, we stopped at a souvenir shop for a quick browse and complimentary coffee. I lucked out and got the back bench and stretched out as a couple of girls were staying in Guatamela. Elias stopped to show us the local laundrymat down by the river. His words: "you can mess with a woman's man, but don't mess with her washing rock". Sure puts a different perspective on washing my clothes in a hotel sink!

By the time we got back to the hotel it was about 5 pm, and power nap time, followed by dinner. I have booked a taxi to take me to Xunantunich tomorrow, and am wondering how my legs are going to feel after today.

What a great day!






Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb