hello all


Advertisement
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Guatemala, Antigua-Lago de Atitlan

Sakaric, nan!
(at least I think that is hello in K'iche, the local language, so say the kids next to me playing grand theft auto)

so this will be my first ever blog, or open journal, or whatever you want to call it. It has been about a week here in Guatemala, though it feels like a month. As some of you might be wondering, and others already know, I was supposed to have left two weeks ago, but didn't. Embarrasingly enough it was because I had misplaced my wallet the day I was supposed to leave. I ended up finding it in Yael´s car that night.

But nonetheless a week later, minus $200, my adventure began, and everything was well, minus one ipod. Another embarrasing and costly story. All I'll say is that you should never rush onto a plane without checking around your seat first. 😊 what a start!

I began my trip in Antigua, where I stayed for 4 days. Most people said it was worth a glance, but too touristy, which in fact it was. But for me, it was the perfect starting place. I was extremeley nervous on my way down, despite all of traveling that I have done. Maybe it is because traveling alone, and that I am not as naive as in the past, or maybe because I was backpacking for the first time without much of a plan. A bit of each I think. But when I arrived in this colonial city, with a beautiful central park, filled with Gringos, Europeans, and Chapinos (guatemalans), I was quite relieved.

I found a hostel, Casa Amarilla, which had a beautiful courtyard, a nice environment, and most importantly was filled with truly wonderful people. As I've described it to some, it felt like the Italy that I never experienced. It was a mixture of the beautiful city, and the international feel. Everyone at the hostel spoke spanish, or at least attempted to. Those that I were closest with were from Italy, Sacramento (CA), Germany, and Canada. My spanish was surprisingly good, though I must say that basic conversation is pretty easy. It was kind of funny because I had the same problem as the italians. I would mix up my spanish and italian. It was also fun because I got to speak Italian as well.

Anyway to speed things up a bit. After a few days in the city of rest, hanging out, card games, volcano climbing, good food, a huge 10 person xylaphone, and stomach problems; I left my little dreamworld, with one of the Italians (Giada), who is my age, and the Sacramento Xicano (David), who is a little younger than my parents. Together we went to the overwhelming market in Chichicastengo, and then onto lake Antigua, where I remain. From here we were supposed to go together up north, and make a loop around the country. But at the lake I got a little overwhelmed by the amount of tourists, and felt a bit like a third wheel with my two companions. My spanish felt weak, and I wanted to go to Xela (Quetzaltenango) but David didn't have much interest. So now I'm in Santiago de Atitlan, a bit lonely, and on my way to study spanish in Xela tomorrow.

And here I will end this novel. I'll try to write a bit more often, and a bit more brief, and hopefully with more vivid descriptions, in the future. It'll help to get this first one out of the way.

Okay, hope everyone is well, feel free to respond or email me.

Adios,
mikael


Advertisement



16th February 2006

que dulce !
Fun to read this Mikael .. I will send e mail addresses tomorrow. I will be excited to see your photos ... Buenas Noche. Paz y amor, mamacita

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb