a day with los chapines


Advertisement
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a difference a day makes. Yesterday I was pretty lonely, and questioned the decision to break away from the group. Today, no regrets.

I began the day trying to figure out how to gain the trust of the locals in Santiago de Atitlan, so that I could photograph their beautiful, purple clothing and their truely exquisite faces. Its hard, because I didn't want to take pictures with my zoom, without them knowing. It feels like stealing from them, and most don't want their picture taken. Then if I asked, they would either charge anywhere from 1 to 10 quetzales, about 15 cents to a buck 45. Not much really, but I ran out of small change quickly. It seemed to me that the ones with the most beautiful, interesting faces, didn't really want their pictures taken. I think if I worked here, and got to know the people, it would be easier. Many of the locals actually take pictures of their friends and sell the pictures.

The day changed when I ran into two orphan girls, who couldn't have been more than 4 or 5,with beautiful faces, who allowed me to take their picture. Its fun to take their picture with a digital camera, because then I can show them, which always excites them.

A woman passing recomended that I give them a little money which I did. Then another woman passed and began talking to me. We talked for quite a while, and it turns out she helps sponser children who can't afford school, or writing supplies. She invited me over, I met her son, and we exchanged email. She asked if I or others could send her money at some point in the future, because her german sponsorer stopped sending money. The nice thing, was that they were very kind, and didn't push for money, but seemed to be content with a friendship.

I then left for San Lucas, another town on the lake, where our friend Vickie volunteered and helps sponser a child. So I looked for the church that she worked through, found it and was invited to eat with all of the volunteers, which was great. I felt bombarded with kindness. Afterwards, one of the main women in charge, Marie, helped me find the family that Vickie sponsors. It took quite a bit of time but eventually we found the organization that sponsors the child. A young man, Santiago, led both of us to the family and after a few stops asking around where they lived, we found them. The mother Olga, has 5 children, each about 2 years apart. The second youngest was Evelin, who Vickie sponsors, who is absolutely darling. When I arrived a few of them were crying, but by the time I left, they all had huge smiles. It was really wonderful. We hung out, took pictures together, played ball, and afterwards, I got to give them 100 Quezales, which Vickie gave me before leaving. Apparently, they are extremeley poor.

The whole experience was quite eye opening, heartwarming, and chilling at the same time. To top the day off, Santiago invited me to stay with him and his family. So the kindness continues. Tomorrow I'm off to study, though the learning has already begun.
okay, thanks for anyone who actually lasted through this. and many thanks go to Vickie for bringing me here.
ciao
mikael

Advertisement



17th February 2006

We're following you
Mikael, just wanted to let you know that we loved reading your entries and glad you got to visit Santiago and see Evelin> Welook forward to the next installment!
17th February 2006

You found her!
Hi Mikael, I'm so glad you found San Lucas, and Marie and, of course, Olga and her children. I look forward to seeing the pictures. It is a very special place and I'm envious that you are there. It makes me want to go back. The people are beautiful and also suffer in so many ways. And Father Greg has managed miracles in such difficult circumstances. Maybe you can go back if you get lonesome again! Thanks for the message and good voyaging! love, Vickie

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb