Spice Island is where it all starts


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Donna has left the building

Starting in London my home, heading to Grenada, my parents place of birth, then...

DJ by the bayDJ by the bayDJ by the bay

The bay is at the end of my folks road, 5mins from the house. This is where we go to lime, swim and just chill
Two weeks into my trip and I am finally ready to do this blog thing.
So far so good, I've been chilling out and climatising at my folks house in St Andrews, Grenada.
It's been very relaxing, swimming in the sea everyday, eating mangoes like it's going out of fashion and eating fresh fish like a local.
So far I've been mostly liming with our next door neighbours, Grenadian soca stars Tiger T and Gary 'Stadium' Williams. They've been great, giving us joke, fetes and the insiders knowledge.
My big brother hooked up with them when he was here on honeymoon nine years ago. Three of my brothers, Donald, Eugene and Paul and my nephew DJ were here to help start of my great adventure the family way. Chris unfortunately couldn't make it. They've gone back to blighty now, sad but I must carry on alone.
'Fish Friday' in Guave (spelt wrong) is spectacular, every type and way you can eat fish. Stalls line a road leading to a small square where they blast the latest tunes to fete to. It goes on through the night and finishes midday on Saturday. It reminded me of Olinda, Brazil, at the top of
on the verandahon the verandahon the verandah

What can I say, I'm just chillin on my Ma's verandah, taking in the sea breeze
the hill where the locals go to lime of an evening. The view of the moon reflected in the black sea was what really kicked it for me.
Full moon passed on Saturday and we went to the Moonlight City Jam, the headliner was Ky-mani Marley. My cousin Carmen was over the moon and insisted on getting a picture with Ky-mani. It was all good and beautifully moonlit.
This is an extra addition to this entry.
It’s an observation I made on the last days off being on the island. Grenadian women don’t dance! Well they do apparently but that’s only when the lights are low, in the darkest corners of the clubs like Baines in Grenville on a Saturday night. In public for all to see, they nod their heads and pretty much keep the rest of their bodies rigid. I’d never noticed this before and found it strange. The boys were definitely the peacocks on the launch and pre-launch nights for the carnival. They were getting on just like the reggae /hip-hop stars they see in the music videos. I wonder why Grenadian women are shy about feeling a rhythm? I hope to visit lots of other countries
Carmen and KimaniCarmen and KimaniCarmen and Kimani

My cus with Kimani Marley her idol, after the show
and islands that do not uphold this unspoken rule.
So now I have to start planning the next leg and stop relaxing so much, Mexico I think or...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

the crewthe crew
the crew

at the Moonlight City Jam for Mothers day.


20th May 2006

Dont Stop Chilling Out
its good we can see your travells but I am not sure how much I can bear it while I am in this concrete jungle. You are going to touch on a lot of places I have been and am already nervous about the good vibes and memories and as I have already packed my job it might get me out of the country!! Enjoy the trips and will be with you in spirit and I will send contacts for you as you go along.Mazvita (thanks) paX
20th May 2006

That sounds wicked Donna! looks like your trip's off to a fine start. x
21st May 2006

I can smell the sun ...from as far as me
My love...nice to hear from you that u r well and finally free to roam across this beautiful planet. Soon me and Desiree will be flying to Italy for a week of raggae....so I feel that somehow we will be closer to u....all the sunshine and raggae vibe u know. Junior is also missing u....by the way any man in sight there? Me Stew and Mark will be performing at the Tate Modern on the Bank holiday monday . I am curating a simple animation with smoke efect and stuff so ....so far soooo goood.Can't wait to have my body near the sea though.I so much need it. Look after urself love and take care!!!!
29th May 2006

Go Donna!
Looks fantastic Donna- wish Tiny and I could drop by to the beach- Great to see the pics and hear your news- thanks.xx (Give your Mum 2 hugs- one from Tiny and one from me)xx

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb