Tu tu tu tu tu tu!


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear all,

Buenos dias de El Salvador! I apologise that it has been so long since my last entry, my days have been so full and they seem to go by far too quickly!

So the Week of the Child ended with a huge celebration in Terminal, it was so much fun! Since then my recorder groups have gotten well under way and many are picking it up much quicker than I anticipated which is wonderful! They really seem to enjoy the classes and many are extremely enthusiastic about practicing outside of the class hours. The plan is to do a small performance at the end of year party next month and then organise a bigger Christmas performance for December. It's going to take a lot of practice but I think they can do it!

I have spent the last two weekends in El Zonte with Jesus and his family as well as visiting a friend, Ricardo, and partying in San Salvador! He took us to Puerta del Diablo in his yellow VW beetle, a huge rock formation at the summit of a mountain outside of the city. Apparently, some of the best views of the city can be seen from there but I couldn't see more than 3 feet in front of me because of the cloud and fog. Still, it felt incredible to be lost in the clouds and we got to eat some amazing food, riguas and elote loco which involves a corn on the cob, mayonnaise, mustard, ketchup, BBQ sauce, more mayonnaise and a thick layer of parmesan cheese! Sounds disgusting but it was, suprisingly, really good!

This weekend I am heading back to El Zonte to see Jesus in the National Surf Competition and for the Day of the Dead when we will take flowers to the graves of family and friends who have passed.

So all is well here in El Salvador, as vibrant and alive as ever. Despite so many problems and closed doors people keep smiling, they carry on... It is those people that have made me fall even more in love with this small but beautiful country! They are El Salvador...

Hasta Pronto!

Laura x x x


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb