FELIZ NAVIDAD!


Advertisement
El Salvador's flag
Central America Caribbean » El Salvador » Western » El Zonte
December 22nd 2008
Published: December 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear all,

It's been a long time! These last two months have been full of hard work, success and laughter and I wish I could do it all over again. The English Summer School was a great success and last week at the Angeles Descalzos Christmas Party the infamous recorder group impressed us all with their renditions of Jingle Bells and Rudolph! I am really amazed at how much they have learned in just over two months, many of them are so talented. In January we are going to take the children on another Campamento where I am going to work with four girls who will continue teaching and developing the group in the new year. My time on the project has gone by so quickly, at the time you don't even realise and then, suddenly, it's over... But I really do feel that I cherished every moment and made the most out of the opportunities that I had, especially towards the end. I am already missing the children so much, their energy, their light, their friendship... I can't wait to see them all again in August!

Besides the project I had a really good experience in Santa Ana, especially getting to know the beautiful surrounding area and last week I even had the opportunity to sing in the Santa Ana theatre which was incredible! In November I went to Guatemala to extend my visa and visited my host mum Silvia and the women in the community where I worked three years ago. It was so wonderful to see them all again and to see how much the project has developed since I was there!

Now, I am back in El Zonte with Jesus and his family for Christmas and it is more beautiful then ever! The skies are constantly clear, the sea is a deep shade of blue and the beach is wide and flawless. This weekend I started learning to surf at last! It is so much fun and I can't wait to get back to the beach this afternoon to go surfing again!

I can't believe it is Christmas in a few days, it feels so strange when its around 35 degrees outside! Jesus and I are going to spend the day with his family and then there is going to be a huge party on the beach in the evening, I can't wait! Although, I miss sitting by the fire while it's freezing outside, or going to sing Christmas carols, or watching cheesy Christmas movies in the afternoon! Most of all I miss all of you, my friends and my family... I wish you all a beautiful Christmas and a happy new year, you are in my thoughts always! FELIZ NAVIDAD!!!

Love always,

Laura x x x

P.S Photos to follow very soon!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb