The Everlasting Well


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It has been one week since I've returned from the Dominican Republic. It was with great longing and sadness that I so recently returned to normal life.

Two weeks ago, six students, two adult leaders, and I set out on a mission trip to bring fresh water to the town of "El Puerto."

I've never gone on a mission trip before. In fact, I've always been wary of the idea of evangelism. In the past, the word "missionary" would conjure up notions of conquistadores, cultural oppression, and religious intolerance. However, as I’ve grown in my faith, I’ve realized the value of sharing, service, and cultural exchange central to journey I was called to undertake.

Everyday was a 10 hour work day filled with arduous labor and open fellowship with the community around us. Truly, it was a great time had by all. The well was completed successfully on the fifth day, bringing clean water to a community which desperately needed it.

I hope and pray that the well we left behind will quench many a thirst - physical and spiritual.

">Take a video tour of the drill site!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The Drill IIThe Drill II
The Drill II
The Drill IIIThe Drill III
The Drill III
The WellThe Well
The Well
The Well IIThe Well II
The Well II
Good TimesGood Times
Good Times
First pumpFirst pump
First pump

The well would have to be run for awhile to start to run clear, but we had to bounce before that!
Living WaterLiving Water
Living Water

"...but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4:14
Reaching OutReaching Out
Reaching Out

We got to spend a good amount of time with the kiddos
Teaching FootballTeaching Football
Teaching Football
Manuel DiazManuel Diaz
Manuel Diaz
JosieJosie
Josie
UntitledUntitled
Untitled
UntitledUntitled
Untitled
UntitledUntitled
Untitled
The Father's ZoneThe Father's Zone
The Father's Zone


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb