TICO TIME


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica
February 14th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Valentine's Day to all!

Sandy and I spent the past weekend in Montezuma, absolutely my favorite beach here in Costa Rica. Apparently, Sandy shares my feelings as she is still there ...with my camera so we'll be posting visuals later (good idea, it has been pouring here). But for now I am back in San Carlos, and this morning I celebrated Valentine's Day with some of the students from the adult Special Needs Educational Center, where I am starting another mural.

However, I'm not going to write about my new project yet, nor the weekend at the beach. I want to write about a certain concept that baffles me. The concept of TICO TIME.

TICO TIME basically translates to...LATE.

This is a travel advisory for those used to the punctuality of the States:

TICO TIME applies everywhere, and in every situation...schools, restaurants, hotels, buses, taxis, and with close to every Latino that I have ever met...LATE. Why bother with a time at all, that would be better. Just say, whenever I get there, and whenever you get there, maybe we will happen to see each other.

In addition to the lateness, there is also a concept that ticos would rather lie than say they don´t know the answer. Example: I would like to take a bus. So I research the bus schedules...one from the internet, one from a phone call to the bus station, one from a posting at the bus station, one from a friend who just took that bus yesterday, and the bus times that I had written from last year. That´s 5 different time schedules. Now when you are taking a bus to...let´s say, the AIRPORT, then this can be an issue. Add the lateness of TICO TIME to all the uncertainty and that leads to this journal entry. This is also why it took me over 12 hours to get home from what should have been a 4 hour trip back from Montezuma this weekend. I am a victim of TICO TIME everyday, and the only positive thing I can say about it is that I am building one hell of a tolerance for uncertainty.

By the way, there is no formula to tico time. I´ve already tried it, several times. Doesn´t work. I thought ok, whatever they say just make it an hour later. but when you do that you have the concept of REVERSE TICO TIME...they can go the other way. They can be early as well, just never on time.

Advertisement



19th February 2006

LOL
Sherry, your entry has me in hysterics. I remember experiencing that when i was in costa rica. Fortunately, i was dealing primarily with my american friends and teachers, so it wasn't a huge problem. you crack me up. Love the entries. what a nice escape from the dreary, mundane, and COLD wisconsin winter (wind chill was -20 yesterday!)

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb