Happy Birthday MOM


Advertisement
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Estoy AquiEstoy AquiEstoy Aqui

Our apartment in the town of San Carlos, conveniently located one block from the ice cream lady
This is my third year in San Carlos, I have no new reflections or impressions, just the strong reminders of why I love it here and why I come back. A few jotted reasons from my journal:

PURA VIDA

Being back on track...the running track. Surrounded by the mountains of San Carlos

THE WARM SUNSHINE (I can also take the warm rain)

The movie theater, still the equivalent of $3, add a large popcorn, soda and candy for another $2. Yes, the movies are current, in English with Spanish subittles

The forced Spanish. In so many other towns here you can get by with English, but this is a local town, not a tourist town, so you are forced to practice, which for me is the best way to learn

The ice cream lady and her home made ice cream for 20 cents and her dog Princess that greets you at the door

Spending time with Ste-funny, now going to turn 19, who I have been tutoring English since I first began volunteering 3 years ago. She finds humor in my confusion with the language (note: Gracias a Dios means thank God not thank you, good-bye)

My landlord, abuelita (little grandmom) always smiling and who talks so incredibly fast, I can never understand one word she is saying, no matter how many times I ask her to slow down

The smell of the cologne the Latino boys wear, I donĀ“t know what it is, but it can stop me dead in my tracks

Jose and the CCS staff who always treats me like family

The friendliness of the internet cafe, where I learn my Costa Rican slang

Dos Pinos yogurt, Monteverde cheese

Watching children that play outside, with sticks and slingshots, dogs, stones, or a soccer ball, but never a video game





Advertisement



14th February 2006

Oh the apartahotel
Yes I remember the first time landlord abuelita talked to me---all I could do was smile and look at you and say--what the hell is she saying???
14th February 2006

Hi Sherry
Hi ! Hope all is well! We will be watching the blog, so post lots of pictures and tell us all about the trip!!!
14th February 2006

Hey there!
Reading your Blog. So much fun! That's awesome.

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0965s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb