Marriage Proposals


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica
February 16th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow I leave San Carlos and head down to Jaco, the surfer party beach town that I fled from 2 years ago. I am returning to visit the friends I left behind, OK, actually just one friend...Jimena. But I will also be reconnecting with Sandy. Sandy got sucked into the beauty of Montezuma beach last weekend, and there she remained the entire week, so I've been flying solo this week. Solo works well for me, I'd say a good 95 percent of the time, But then there's those 5 percent times, like this past Valentine's Day in which I spent the night watching Finding Nemo on my laptop in my apartment, had and avocado for dinner and fell asleep by 8pm. I also checked my email 4 times and the internet cafe, which stayed open just for me... yup, definately a 5 percent day. So this is a thank you to all those who had written me!

Back to the present. I never really have a plan when I come to San Carlos, it just seems like a plan finds me, and I like that.

This week I was asked to do a mini-mural at CAIPAD, an Adult Disabilities
Finished WallFinished WallFinished Wall

I guess not really a mural, but a more welcoming entrance into the center
Center, which offers occupational therapy and training for adults (18-60 years) with disabilties.

The goal is to make the entrance way a little "happier" and I have 4 days to make it work, actually 3 days, it took one day to get the supplies...the correct supplies. The finished wall now reads BIENVENIDOS (welcome) with a parrot on each side.

I'm starting to really get the hang of painting large scale. The key is prior proper planning...so I spend most of the time on a smaller paper sketch, then grid out the whole thing in chalk onto the wall. This way when I´m on site the work is mindless which gives me abitlity to interact with the students and the staff, so if I need to put my paintbrush down to play a round of jacks, or have a conversation about butterflies, then it´s not a problem. I finished today, The students were so excited watching. I´ve gotten rounds of applause, kisses, hugs, one dance, and 2 marriage proposals...I´ll take that over a paycheck anytime.










Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

CAIPADCAIPAD
CAIPAD

A few students and staff at the Center
BienvenidosBienvenidos
Bienvenidos

Here you go mom, I promise to post more shots with your daughter actually in the photo.


17th February 2006

Solo Bueno
Sherger: Rock on. Have a great time w/ the ladies. Have an Imperial for me. Love=Donaldo
3rd April 2006

SALUDOS
Hola Sherry como stas te mando besos desde Costa Rica te mando unh abrazo de amigo d tu profesor de español. Arturo y Mily

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb