Home Sick


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I guess you could say I m getting a little homesick. It´s not that I don´t love it here. This the most amazing experience of my life. Well maybe not the most amazing, but the other one involved a bathtub full of mayo and three naked chicks, but that ones not G rated. But, I´m getting a little tired of the whole "Spanish" thing. Its hard and very discouraging to express yourself at times when you don´t know the words you want to use. And trying to conjugate irregular verbs in the conditional tense on the fly in your head gets a little old after the 329357 time.

I miss not being able to walk around barefoot whenever I want because you have to wear shoes at all times here in Costa Rica. They frown upon the no shoes. Sometimes I sneak off to my room and close the door so I can walk around barefoot just for a little bit.

I miss being able to snack on any food I want at any time. I don´t have the luxury of going to trax at 1 am to eat buffalo wing pizza or having my sister fix me a pb and j sandwich at 3 in the afternoon when i´m hungry. Even if I felt comfortable enough to do that there, I couldn´t because the only thing they ever keep in the fridge is mayo and musty mangos.

I miss going to Atlas tile and marble with donny anderson and attempting to hit on the chicks that are 10 years my senior there.

I miss my family most of all though.

However. On the upswing I´m going to the mall tonight to buy Harry Potters newest novel, in spanish no less. Also, we are going to the 2 for 1 movies and I believe that we are seeing Fantastic 4.

So there is this missionary couple here from oklahoma or some bible thumping state down south kinda west. And i don´t like them at all. They are so annoying, they´re like that person you have class with, but you never really talk to em, but yet you still manage a way to despise them. For me that would be debbie ashman who is always in my chem classes and i hate her guts. So naturally the missonary couple is the debbie ashman version of costa rica.

Speaking of which, i met the costa rican version of Gary Scutt yesterday. that in itself should explain everything.

This weekend the school has a trip (a free trip) planned for us to Punta Leona for the day, (its right near Jaco and its a beach) and we´re staying at some resort i think. The girls all want to go to this freaking butterfly farm, but i said screw that, I´m going fishing and surfing. Last weekend I wasn´t able to even get a line wet, beacuse we were in the middle of the country; so I´m not letting anything get in my way this time.

So, i´m have one more extra weekend here than everyone else because my plane leaves on a monday morning. So i´m planning a secret trip then, solo style. After how smoothly things went last weekend I´m pretty sure I´ll be able to pull it off, though it could be very expensive. I might leak some details tomorrow after i do a little research on it.

I got up at 5:30 am this morning and went running. Partly because I had a lot of energy that needed to be expended and partly beacuse the parrot wouldn´t shut up and they were running some sort of version of a concrete grinder next door. So after a 4 mile run through San Francisco, up some mountain of coffee plants and back i´m feeling very refreshed.

I forgot to mention my total expenses for last weekend. 31,785 colones or roughly $65.53. Not bad considering all the junk we did. However I did have to share a double bed with "Marcos".

I´m still waiting to hear how Marco´s little adventure by hiimself went yesterday. Funnest comment left thus far: My uncle asking if Farneti had 2 left nuts or something. Of course mike still is dating my cousin.

Anywho, I enjoy reading everyones comments from home. Thanks a ton. take care everyone.

Pura Vida

P.s: I´ll try and post some more pictures today or tomorrow. Hpe you enjoyed the first bunch.

Advertisement



20th July 2005

Hi Love
Hi Love, Just a quick note before I continue with my chore list to cheer you on! You are doing great with your adventure! In no time at all you will be back doing all those things you say you miss. In a flash the trip will be done and you will have all these wonderful memories and adventures to think back and reflect on. It is finally less humid today and we are enjoying the fresh feel to the air. AnnElise is up visiting Mike, but staying with Grandma much of the time as Mike is working. We all had dinner together last night and AnnElise is going out to dinner with Mike's grandparents tonight. Yesterday I went to school to finish up some budget stuff. I took Grandma and AnnElise shopping with Lindsay to get more stuff for Lindsay's apartment. We got some lamps and bathroom stuff. Daddy worked with his school team much of the day yesterday and has been directing John and Mary McLaughlin in their work on the tree farm. Mary has been coming over to help too. Daddy has her scraping and painting the barn with wood preservative. The garden is thriving and I thought of you this morning when I picked string beans. I know how much you like them. I also picked a ton of summer and zucchini squash and snow peas. Looks like a vegetable dinner tonight. We love you and miss you too, but are having so much fun looking at your pictures and reading your blog. Keep up the good work and we will have to make an "appointment" to call soon. HKHKHKHKHKHKHKHKHKHKHKH.....Mom and Dad
20th July 2005

Don't let girls get in the way of fishin
I'm glad to hear that your done acqueising to the girls. There's plenty of girls back in NY but no tarpon, rooster fish or sailfishing! If they want to come with make pay their own way. And tell them no puking! Shearing, mowing, firewood, pond building are filling my days. Have a Corona on me. ;Going to Maryland to see Don and Gail on Friday. Enjoy your trip. Your Uncle is wierd!
20th July 2005

blog response #6
yeah youve been away for like what, a buttload of days already; its no suprise youre homesick. you wont be there forever, which im sure you realized a while ago, so go nuts, or should i say, "go sac", for the last week youre there. yeah those bible people suck - i bet theyre the most annoying people there and the fact that you can understand every stupid thing they say doesnt help much. you should invite them on your solo adventure, then ditch them somewhere. who knows, maybe theyll get lucky and find god when theyre wandering about the jungles of costa rica naked and hungry. the costa rican version of Gary Scutt - i cant even begin to comprehend what that was like. did he wave his hand in front of his face and then point to the unlit end of his cigarette in hopes of you understanding that you lack a filter? did he ask you who smoked the kools? we know who smokes the kools luke, we know who smokes the kools... harry potter in spanish eh? you might as well pick up the spanish version on tape for barklow, cause you know, he hasnt techincally "read" all the books, but listening is just as good, if not better; youre hands are free to do stuff, like eat vennesan dogs or drop lanterns. good luck with more of your costa rico-ing spend "mad colones" p.s. you slept with marcos? i bet he loves a good dutch oven
20th July 2005

Marcos is one strapping young lad, and to think you slept with him?!?!?!?! gotta eat dinner then go secure broome county, catch you later.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb