What do Visa's, Bridges and Cubans have in common? (Dave)


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Look Ma, I can fly!Look Ma, I can fly!Look Ma, I can fly!

I think I watched "The boy who could fly" one too many times when I was young!
Costa Rica honestly did it's darnedest to break me but all ended up going to plan.

For those that don't know the in's and out's of the visa I was applying for, I'll give you a brief run down.
The E-3 is a two year work visa available only to Aussies and the catch was I had to leave the country to apply for it.
The five criteriors I looked for in choosing a destination were;
1. A short wait time for an interview (Scratch Canada)
2. A short wait time for visa processing (Scratch Bermuda)
3. Health and Safety (Scratch Mexico)
4. Close to the US (Scratch Australia)
5. Cheap flights and accommodation (Scratch Europe and Jamaica).

Costa Rica fit all of those requirements and after many phonecalls at $10 a pop to arrange an interview, I was on my way.
With some dramas about needing a ticket out of Costa Rica before entering, I arrived in the capital of San Jose on Monday afternoon. I had my interview on Tuesday afternoon and the only thing I needed to do beforehand was to pay for the interview at a local bank. Arriving at the bank 5 mins after closing on Monday, I fronted up first thing Tuesday. Computers down! Luckily enough and right on time, I was all payed up and headed off to the US Embassy dressed to the nines.

10 minutes of 'yes sir', 'anything you say sir' and handing over about half of the documentation they asked me to bring, my application was looking the goods! Now to sitting around on a beach waiting for the visa to arrive at the DHL office next to the hostel.

I woke up on Wednesday morning, checked the net to track the shipment and sure enough it was ready to pick up! It was then I decided to head back to the States early and forego the beach.
Not before jumping off a bridge and playing poker until the wee hours, talking crap, smoking Cuban cigars and downing a few beers with the Hostel owner and other guests.

Costa Rica Mission 'Get Visa'- Done!






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



22nd June 2009

hey man congrats! for the visa AND the bungy! i did mine at dreamworld- your is slightly more exotic and exciting, but i guess the adrenaline would be the same!
10th July 2009

OMG!!!
Dave, I can't believe it.... You Jumped!!!!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 95; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb