September 10, 2008


Advertisement
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, hope you are all doing well. I hope the reunion will still be able to happen and that Ike doesn't ruin everyone's plans. It is raining here. As usual. Today one of the teachers, Alina, invited Emnet and I up to her house outside of the city for a typical Costa Rican meal. She had a really nice house, big and open, as seems to be the norm here. We had guacamole, smashed black beans and tortillas, a dish that was a mix of corn and hearts of palm. And also a green salad with some tuna. It was all really good, I especially like the tortillas, they were store bought, but they taste homemade compared to what we get in the stores at home.

I am going to the beach this weekend with some friends, I am really looking forward to it since I have hardly been out of San Jose. We are going to the Caribbean coast, to a beach called Puerto Viejo in the provence of Limon. It will take about 5 hours by bus, but that is not as bad when you are travelling with a bunch of friends. If you want to see some pictures before I go, you can google it, it looks great!

Not much else is happening right now, I'm just working and getting used to everything here. I have a test in my Spanish class tomorrow and I am a little nervous about it! I am not progressing as fast as I would like, but I guess I haven't even been here for a whole month. Hope everyone is doing well and I will post the next time I have something interesting to write about!

Hugs!

Advertisement



10th September 2008

Beach
Wow, Puerta Viejo. When you're back in America figure out how much it would cost you to visit there and the 5 hour bus ride will seem very cheap. Glad you're having such a great time. Love, Nina
17th September 2008

Reunion
Amy, We are glad that you are having a nice trip to the beach. The reunion has been cancled by IKE. The location, Andy's house, was ground zero for IKE. His house did sustain minor damage, but it certainly could have been worse. Dad

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb