August 27, 2008


Advertisement
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post


Hi everyone! How are you doing?! I’m still doing well. Yesterday after training, I had a few hours before I had to observe a lesson, so I went with one of the other trainee’s and we wondered around a bit. We went into a souvenir shop and I bought some postcards (don’t worry, I will send them out soon!), then we walked over to a coffee shop and had some authentic Costa Rican coffee, it was good, and little seafood appetizer that we ate on crackers. It’s nice to have some friends here who know Spanish and will show me around. I came back to Berlitz to do a peer observation, I observed Pillat (I think that was her name), she was really nice and a good teacher, it’s good to see it in action. She said that she was from Spain, and when I told her where I was from she said that there is another teacher who is from Denver. I was a little nervous about riding the bus after that because it was dark when I was done. But it turned out okay, I was the last person on the bus and I told the driver that I lived by the tennis courts; he dropped me off at the right stop.
In the middle of the night the alarm system went off, it scared me to death. This morning Roger told me that part of the roof in the backyard had fallen in and he thought it was a burglar, so he set the alarm off. Hopefully the landlord will get all that fixed.
Today we went to a vegetarian restaurant for lunch, it was really good, and I had a papaya milkshake, mmm that was awesome! Training was good, I feel more confident, and I’m so ready to start teaching. I have one more observation to do; it is on Friday at 7, so I have to get on the bus bright and early. Hopefully there won’t be any problems then.


Advertisement



28th August 2008

Doing Well
Amy, We are glad that you are getting to know lots of people and that your training is going well. I am sure that you will be doing a good job with the teaching and that the students will all be willing learners. Dealing with adults should be much different than working in a High School. To all of you who are reading Amy's postings, please take the time to respond or comment. One-way communication is difficuilt to maintain.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb