1st excursion in Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HorsesHorsesHorses

Horses at the parade
August 17, 2008
Day 2

Today I went with my roommate and her boyfriend (Roger-and yes the g is silent) to his family’s house in Colon, west of San Jose. It was great, but a long all day thing. 1st we went to his parents house and had breakfast, I was served by his step mom and she seemed to think it was great, she served me cut up watermelon and papaya and then put a yogurt drink over it and then granola. It was very good. I tried the rice and beans - which is a staple at every single meal for Costa Ricans - and I thought it was good, just strange to have it for breakfast. Roger’s family was really nice and everyone treated me great, as one of the family, Roger speaks perfect English and his dad spoke a little bit.
Then we drove to Roger’s uncle’s house, huge, ginormous sprawling lawn, with trees and everything, and a big Spanish style house. It was just gorgeous. There they got the horses ready for the parade that the family was getting ready to ride in. And when I say family people, I mean Big Fat Greek Wedding family, only they all speak Greek! Everyone was really, really nice to me, even better than I could have imagined. Once the horses were ready, it started to pour, and I mean pour in a way Colorado only dreams about. So we waited awhile and then we finally all piled into different cars, and got to the little town and watched as they and a bunch of other families paraded their horses.
When that was done, and it was raining again, we went back to Roger’s uncle’s house and ate. I had fabulous corn tortillas with black beans, some sort of cheese dip with mushrooms, mango, and I can’t remember what else. Some people spoke to me English, and let me try out my Spanish on them, I really liked Roger’s grandpa and also his step mom, she told me that she’ll help me with Spanish, if I help her with English, which I consider to be a fair deal. We just got back about a half hour ago, which means that we’ve been gone for 12 hours. Now I have to get ready for my 1st day of training tomorrow, and figure out how to get from the house to my job. Good night all.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



21st August 2008

Hi Amy!!!
Thanks for including me on your blog~!! I'm psyched for you --a new adventure. Lynn Bourke

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb