Night Diving


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Night diving…hmmmm something I have been postponing for about 2 years. On a recent stint in the states I did a couple but to be honest they were more like dusk dives. Its not that I dislike the diving at night, its more the trips out at night and the whole washing of equipment afterwards and breaking stuff down. I always said that if I could snap my fingers and be in the water, and then snap my fingers and be dry with a beer in my hand I would probably be a bit more enthusiastic. However, that being said this night dive was my first in the pacific and its was very cool. I have a specific passion for the little critters and night diving is especially when we get to see some cool stuff. I clocked two species of crabs that I have never seen and some different starfish. Octopus where out as well as the usual shrimps and squirrelfish. The first 20 mins produced nothing particularly exhilarating but the second half was continually interrupted with me squealing like a complete muppet upon discovering a new crab, or shrimp or something else tiny. My student that was accompanying me on her first ever night dive I’m sure was curious about the shear excitement I produced on what I’m sure she interpreted as a piece of algae (those decorater crabs are so cunning!) or rock. Ultimate result was that I huffed my air in the last 20 minutes and came up from the dive very pleased with myself as did my student. I have to honestly say that I am looking forward to the next one in a couple of weeks. Maybe I’ll finally get to see a live cowrie…..I’m bored of just looking at dead shells by now .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb