Hammocks and Tents. Seemed like a good idea at the time!


Advertisement
Published: December 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The infamous 'hammock hotel'.The infamous 'hammock hotel'.The infamous 'hammock hotel'.

Will I ever get any sleep?
After Cahuita we moved along the coast to a town called Puerto Viejo de Talamanca. Although only half an hour away, the weather has been a world away. It has not stopped raining since we got here!

I’d been excited about this town since I first started reading my Lonely Planet, as it is home to an infamous hostel called ‘Rockin’ J’s’, where the main form of accommodation comes in the form of hammocks or tents. Seemed like a good idea in June when we booked the hammocks, but as the time grew nearer I was slowly starting to dread the idea of not having a bed, getting bitten to death by mosquitos and being neighbours with god knows who.

However, I was cheered up on arrival by the décor of the place- lovely gardens and mosaics covering every imaginable surface. Hannah and Emma decided to upgrade their hammocks to a tent, and I decided that as a hardened traveler, I would regret it if I didn’t spend a night in the ‘hammock hotel’ (basically a roof with about 40 hammocks strung from it!).

Despite the rain we had such a fun night as we bumped into lots of people that I’d met in previous places (Hannah and Emma must think I’m very popular!), listened to some good live music and then went to a local nightclub where we boogied the night away to reggae (forgetting for an hour or so that we all HATE reggae music!)

I actually managed to have quite a good night’s sleep in the end. Not sure if the 7 double rums had anything to do with it. I guess I’ll find out tonight!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Our posse!Our posse!
Our posse!

New Swiss friend Nadia, and previous friends from Nicaraguan adventures Sanna, Hajar, Carl and Jane.


25th December 2007

Happy Christmas
Happy Christmas, hope you are having a great time and lots of love from us all love Loulabelle, Sophie and Henry

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb