La festival de San Ramon


Advertisement
Published: August 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

This morning, since I didn't have class I got to "sleep in" until about 8:30... Never thought I would call that sleeping in. At 11 we went to the San Ramon festival. It was a big parade where the floats were different Saints. There were SO many people. It was a bit confusing for me because I do not know a lot about the catholic religion. Tomorrow is when the celebrating starts 😊

My host parents had to return to Guanacaste, where they lived for the last 3 years, to finish up some stuff. So, it was only me. When I returned to the house for lunch, I couldn't unlock the door.. I had the parents next door try to help, but no one could. I was locked out, with my lunch inside. Luckily, Ashley's host mom (my next door neighbors) fed me.

After lunch, Ashley and I proceeded to seek out the bank. We found it on the first try! I needed to buy shampoo, conditioner, and batteries so we went to a supermercado. Shampoo was REALLY expensive. Almost the equivalent of 6 dollars for a small bottle. Ashley and I stopped into a small bar where we had our first "Imperial Light", the Costa Rican beer.

Tonight, I went to the next door neighbors and listened to the son play guitar and sing. He knows a lot of songs in English by artists like ACDC, Eric Clapton, Tom Petty, Guns n Roses, Journey, etc. He is really, really good. We played a couple songs for him and he could play the guitar to them within the first 30 seconds or so. It was a really good time.

Advertisement



1st September 2012

great blog
how interesting to see all that you are doing and i know it is an exciting time for you and sounds like you have got to do a lot in just a few days

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb