Nice Weekend


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend (and Monday) were pretty cool.

Friday:
On my walk down from Madre Verde to a fellow volunteer's house for coffee, this elder man stopped me and asked me if I worked at Madre Verde because he had seen me around before. For the next half-hour or so, we talked about my school, my interests in music, the politics of Costa Rica and the United States, and how more people should be exploring outside their own country in order to better understand the world. After saying our goodbyes, I continued down to the volunteer's house to have some coffee and meet two new Mexican girls who would be volunteering at Madre Verde for the next three months. By around 6 pm, I made a quick stop home to gather my things, and spent the rest of the night with my "tico" friends.

Saturday:
I was invited to lunch at the house of the same volunteer as Friday and enjoyed meeting her kids and grandkids. After relaxing there, I made my way to downtown Palmares and spent some time going through my e-mail.

Sunday:
I had hoped to check my e-mail again, but all the computers in the cafe were occupied. Slightly disappointed, I decided to wait in the park. To my luck, some of my tico friends were there and after a little bit, we headed over to one of their houses to play a soccer video game on PlayStation 2. I played with the Ireland team and had a lot of fun. A few hours later, walked back to the park to meet up with some other friends and had a nice time.

Monday:
It was just a normal working day at Madre Verde until Rafa (the father of the local family) asked me to help him make some tortillas. All it took was some kernals of corn, a bowl, and a crank-grinder (like a cheese grinder). It was cool to experience a food preparation method that not many people bother to use anymore.

Advertisement



8th June 2006

volunteering
how long will you be volunteering, and what kind/organization? I started reading your blog today, June 7th. thanks
9th June 2006

weekend
Glad to hear all that!; sorry we didn't have more time to share more of it by phone on Mon!!

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb