Madre Verde


Advertisement
Published: March 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BienvenidosBienvenidosBienvenidos

"Welcome to Green Mother" (probably referring to Mother Nature)
For the next five months (until July 25) I will be working at a butterfly garden named Madre Verde outside of San Ramon, Costa Rica. It's pretty simple work consisting of little more than making sure the butterflies have food (bananas) everyday, moving the caterpillars to different trees with better leaves (hojas en español), watering the plants, and moving new butterflies from the "nursery" to the garden (mariposario en español). In addition to the beautiful butterflies, I've seen a handful of anoles and geckos and a surprising number of gorgeous birds. I'm working slowly but surely to make it seem like you're down here with me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 94, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

This wayThis way
This way

This is as far as the bus takes me... gotta walk the rest (about a 5 minute walk)
On my way to workOn my way to work
On my way to work

About half-way between the bus stop and the entrance to Madre Verde
TurnTurn
Turn

I take a right and keep on chuggin'
Not yetNot yet
Not yet

Still have a bit to go before I get to the butterfly garden
MariposarioMariposario
Mariposario

Inside is where all the action is!
Butterfly paradiseButterfly paradise
Butterfly paradise

Here's a panorama of the inside of the butterfly garden
Some people just don't seem to care about EarthSome people just don't seem to care about Earth
Some people just don't seem to care about Earth

"Our only home is planet Earth. Take care of it!" I'm pretty sure that "puto" is something profane.
Lucky shot!Lucky shot!
Lucky shot!

Heliconius charitonius (flying) & Heliconius hecale (on flower)
Let's be mature here peopleLet's be mature here people
Let's be mature here people

In case you were curious, yes, this is how butterflies have sex... quit laughing back there!
Tijo (Groove-billed Ani)Tijo (Groove-billed Ani)
Tijo (Groove-billed Ani)

Similar to crows but not as ugly or annoying
Mating showMating show
Mating show

After bobbing his head back and forth, this anole shows off his color to the ladies!
Unknown MariposaUnknown Mariposa
Unknown Mariposa

Don't know its name, but it sure is beautiful!
Elanio Tijereta (Swallow-tailed Kite)Elanio Tijereta (Swallow-tailed Kite)
Elanio Tijereta (Swallow-tailed Kite)

I think that's trash attached to its foot... tisk tisk, Costa Rica
Beware of BarkBeware of Bark
Beware of Bark

I had to be careful where I sat as I tried to get closer to the hummingbirds!
Oropéndola de Montezuma (Montezuma Oropendola)Oropéndola de Montezuma (Montezuma Oropendola)
Oropéndola de Montezuma (Montezuma Oropendola)

This is my favorite bird here in Costa Rica. It has a really melodic call that is accompanied by a forward swoop (sits on a branch, leans forward until completely upside-down, then shows off its yellow tail as it comes back up).
Largartija de suelo (Ground Anole)Largartija de suelo (Ground Anole)
Largartija de suelo (Ground Anole)

Am I in Jurassic Park or Costa Rica?
Xiomara (18) and Angel (15)Xiomara (18) and Angel (15)
Xiomara (18) and Angel (15)

Two of the three daughters of the local family
Morpho peleidas limpidaMorpho peleidas limpida
Morpho peleidas limpida

The morpho makes up the majority of the butterflies at Madre Verde.


28th June 2006

More!
Just when I thought I'd seen them all, you keep adding more (or so it seems) ...love your shots...I guana closeup is awesome!! Keep 'em comin'

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb