Blue Crowned MotMot


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My favorite bird in Costa Rica to date is the Blue Crowned MotMot. My first exposure to him was just days after we moved into the rental house. He captivated me with his vibrant turquoise head and black band thru his eyes.

There is a legend here that the motmot did not want to help in creating the world. He hid in a hole in the ground leaving his tail exposed. The other birds were justifiably angry and pecked away his tail feathers leaving a bare area and single feather at the end. Being the bad guy he is said to be he lied to the gods and said that he had helped the other birds. The gods were angry at his lies and admonished him to forever live underground.

I’ve not been able to find any other information on this beautiful bird. If anyone out there is intrigued by his beauty like I am and has time to do a little research and forward it to me I’d be forever grateful.

We now have two motmots living around our house. One has two tail balls and the other only one. Perhaps one is male and the other female?

There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t take at least one picture of these fantastic birds. They see me start the coffee in the morning and begin begging for bananas. What an awesome way to start the day.

Enjoy the pics!
Pura Vida,
Jen



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb