The Roof is ON


Advertisement
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Roof joistsRoof joistsRoof joists

My picture of the completed roof (green metal) is not accessible right now. These are the metal joists that were put together by the Master Builder on the project.
During my last visit at the end of June the progress made on my casita in Baho La Paz was encouraging. The roof joints - all galvanized metal, were all built and installed and the roof was in place. The crew was busy working on finishing the interior walls.

By now (June 17th) the floor should be poured. Next comes the ceiling, then the tile. I had great fun making final decisions on the tile colors on this last trip. At this point all the tile is being stored at my Tico friend's house in Piedades Norte.

On the Maryland side, the June 30th retirement date is coming VERY quickly. I am shutting down my work here at the University (prepping it for being passed along to my replacement) and trying to finish the packing of the household contents. This weekend my two daughters and one son-in-law are coming home to help with a Saturday yard sale. Then on Sunday we pack a U-Haul with the boxes to be delivered to Charlie Zeller's warehouse in Palmetto, FL and some furniture that will be taken to my daughter's house in the Miami area.

Things have gone smoothly so far, but I do still wake up in the middle of the night with the 1001 details still be be addressed rattling around in my brain. I should be visiting the house again in late July and hope to move in permanently in early September.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb