Christmas in the Caribbean


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 3: Sunday chez Cousin D.



My cousin D lives in Grand Cayman and is a Cayman citizen, lucky him! He's the reason we are all here. I have something to learn from him... So my friends ask yourself, what's keeping you from living your big dreams?

So I went to church...pentecostal, in a sea of beautiful dark faces all dressed in their sunday best like you would do for church on easter sunday. Little boys not even school age in pressed shirts & ties. Little girls in organza dresses & ribbons in their hair. An alter decorated with big red poinsettias... It's still Christmas time...wow, hard to believe.

Then we have a family dinner at D's house in George Town, the capitol of Grand Cayman. With about a population of 20 thousand, it has over 600 banks. It's beautiful here and I spend the afternoon by the pool as we snack on fresh coconut my cousins just picked. Dinner is fresh red snapper in a spice rub, pumpkin, grilled banana, salad & potato. There's always a wind here on the island which is a very good thing. You can stay in a bikini all day & night, the temp doesn't get cool.

Every night since leaving home I've watched the sunset. All of the sunsets in Grand Cayman have been on the beach for me. After the sun goes down, the moon is just a sliver shaped in a U with the biggest star in the sky above it. There is a yaught nearby...it has it's own helicopter on it. It's not Bill Gates but it is one of the owners of Microsoft and they've been here every night just offshore. I even get to bed early as everything closes on Sunday in Grand Cayman.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb