Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

July 13 - Sadly, the sleep was poor and we had to get up early. We had some breakfast and then my mom and I had to say goodbye on the shuttle back to the airport. My opinion of Delta changed today. When I got in, I checked in at a kiosk, had to wait only five minutes for the woman to take my bag, and then got through security in about five minutes. Skillful. How can Atlanta be so much better than Zurich in this way?

On the plane to Belize I talked a bit to the women sitting next to me, and her granddaughter. We decided to take a taxi together to the boats that go the surrounding islands. I was heading to Caye Caulker and they were off to San Pedro. It was only 45 minutes on thw water taxi and then I was walking down a sandy road looking for the Sandy Lane hotel. I upgraded my room when offered, from a room with private bath to a little cabana. It feels guilty but it's still cheap and I have a tv and a little kitchen. It is hot in here though, even with the fans running. Once checked in, I went for a walk around to see the island. It is typical for a tourist area. Lots of little shops and trinkets to buy, lots of restaurants with Bob Marley playing. I ran into Nicole and Joe, a honeymooning couple I met on the boat on the way over. Nice people. I then went to pay the deposit on the incredibly expensive sailing trip I'm taking in a couple days. I also had them help me find a tour to two places I want to go to this weekend. Altun Ha is now set for tomorrow but still hoping the other pans out. There has to be enough people signed up and I am hoping we can get it so I can go to this cool Mayan site on a river, Lamanai. For dinner I decided to just make some mac and cheese, just because I could. And because I'm still exhausted. I had no idea I could still be awake at 10pm, but I plan to remedy that promptly.

July 14 - Altun Ha (Coming soon)

July 15 - Today was a hard day, as I had no plans and wasn't sure what to do with myself. I got up a bit later, around 7:30, and had some breakfast and watched some tv. I went for a walk to see what I could see and then went to the ATM and to pay the balance on my sailing trip. There are no cars here, just golf carts and bikes. A lot of both. The gold carts can be rented by people, and it seems funny since everything is in walking distance. I got a burrito for lunch and watched it with a side of NCIS. Another marathon today and I loved it. I saw much of many episodes. I eventually made it down to the swimming area and sat in the sun for a bit, but never made it into the water. I just couldn't leave my things unattended. But I should get a lot of water and snorkeling in soon, on the sailing trip. I've started organizing my things to pack back up tomorrow night. I need to have a bag of things that I can access for the three days of sailing and the other that will be stored. For dinner I went to a restaurant with a $5 special with pork roast, rice and beans and potato salad. It was delicious. Came home and showered and started sweating again immediately. What can you do? I have also tried again to plan what comes after the sailing trip until I meet my family in Roatan next week. I'd like to go to Livingston, but the connections after that seem complicated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.544s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 32; qc: 122; dbt: 0.2671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb