Boatyard Beach Party . . .


Advertisement
Barbados' flag
Central America Caribbean » Barbados » Bridgetown
February 13th 2008
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Final day in Barbados. I've spent so many fraustrating days here in Barbados during my time on the Destiny. It's been nice the final few weeks to just be able to enjoy the island. Life on the ship is busy. Doing my handover with my replacement. Socializing with friends while I still can. Packing in every moment still possible with Jody. Plus there are all of these safety inspections happening this week which means extra drills and training and meetings and things. All this leaves little time for rest. But I'm determined to still get out this week for some final adventures.

Jody and I walked to Boatyard, the beach club in Barbados the crew always go to. It's a nice half hour walk through Bridgetown. Lovely just to be out in the sunshine, walking and talking with him.

At the beach we joined more friends - members of the cast and the infirmary staff. It was an easy but fun afternoon. Had a nice swim in the ocean. Laid out in the sunshine. Enjoyed some tropical drinks. Joined in on the "crew party" events that the club runs every week - different sorts of contests and things.

I got to see Ben one last time, because again our ships were in port together. He had a birthday gift for me - a copy of the book "The Secret". He'd talked to me about it so many times (and all the guys I hang out with on the Destiny have been passing the DVD around to each other, so I'm hearing a lot about it). He wrote me a note on the inside. I love books as gifts. Perfect. When it came time for Jody and I to head back to ship and therefore time to say goodbye to Ben, we just hugged and hugged and hugged. We know we'll see each other again one day. We were uncertain but hopefuly when we left the Legend, but we were reuninted. We're certain that somewhere in the world will be another reunion one day. But right then, I didn't want to let go. He said to stay happy, keep smiling and that was it. I left him standing in the surf, smiling and waving. Until next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

AdamAdam
Adam

My fellow Canadian kid.
JodyJody
Jody

It's like an advertisement isn't it?


21st February 2008

Soaking up the Sun...
Trying to live vicariously through you, as weather here is not nearly as nice as yours looks. “May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields. And until we meet again, May Good Fortune hold you in the hollow of her hand.” Miss ya babe.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb