Lets play Hyde & Seek


Advertisement
Asia
July 21st 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

The other day was my birthday; I still had to go to work of course though, no problems there. The people I work with are great. They even arranged a special birthday lunch for me. A dozen double cheeseburgers and a bathtub of fries. What more could a guy ask for? Also, my girlfriend was hard at work looking for a place to go for dinner so I knew that it was going to be a good day.
In between replying to a landslide of Facebook birthday wishes I was getting constant updates, “this place looks good” or “I hear they have really nice steak here”, in the end my appetite had been so teased and twisted with all the descriptions that it really didn’t matter where we went, they all sounded so good.

Finally though, a decision was made. We were to go to a place called Hyde & Seek. I’d heard my boss’ talking about it often so I asked what I could expect and they told me that it used to be one of, if not THE best place in Bangkok for a good meal and great cocktails, although in recent years it had apparently faded from its former glory. This didn’t dampen my expectations though, either way I was going to really enjoy the evening.

Getting there was simple enough; the restaurant is right behind the Plaza Athenee on Wireless Road so you really can’t go wrong. We heard it before we saw it, nice music coming from just around the corner and as we rounded it we saw a tent with several tables under it and some really happy, slightly wobbly, diners chatting away excitedly. Our table was underneath an awning along the side of the restaurant. It was all done so nicely, the décor wasn’t too showy and he staff uniforms were nice, the ladies just in an oversized shirt and the men wearing what looked like overalls.

Looking at the cocktail list it was hard to make a choice. All the descriptions were well written and they all looked good. Finally though I settled on an orange-infused whiskey cocktail and Carla landed on a concoction of Early Grey Tea, Gin and Cinnamon. Hers was the winner by a long shot! Mine…. I’ve had better but it was still very good. The wine we ordered though, a bottle of Californian Red, a
What was leftWhat was leftWhat was left

What was left from our dessert Yes, the main is missing
2009 Sin Zin, was excellent. It was the name that attracted us initially, nothing boring like Chateau de Blah-dee-Blah and paired with the food it went down a treat. Especially with the main.

The starters were delicious, caramelized salmon Carpaccio with what looked like brine and very well battered calamari with crispy green beans. Despite it tasting excellent we didn’t want to get too full, we’d each ordered a rump steak and I wanted plenty of space. It’s been so long since I’ve had a good steak, I’ve heard whisperings of where you can find the best steak in Bangkok, some tell to go here, others to go there but one thing I can say for sure is that the Hyde & Seek steak was superb! About 3-fingers thick and the size of a baby’s foot it was incredibly tender, the knife quite literally gliding through the meat. The chips were also really tasty, done in a Provençale sauce with all the herbs still sticking to the fries. Unfortunately though, because it was so good, we both completely forgot to take photos, it was only once we’d reached the end that I remembered the camera in my pocket, and by then all that was left were a few very empty plates.

Dessert was OK, nothing to really write home about. I’d be hard pressed to describe what one of them was. Some strange scoop of flavored whipped cream or something. The other, a piece of chocolate cake, because no birthday is complete without one.


Advertisement



23rd July 2011

sounds delish, glad you had a nice time <3

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb