Ko Phi Phi


Advertisement
Asia
June 21st 2010
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So I arrive in Krabi airport wondering whether I would make the boat to Ko Phi Phi. I did which I was very happy about! I was 'ambushed' shortly after stepping off the bus from the airport by a seemingly nice guy who wanted to sell me my onward ticket to Ko Phangan. I later regretted being sucked in by his charm.

Got to Phi Phi where it was peeing it down, and got ambushed again by a load of tourist touts. I knew this tourist 'ambushing' is very common in Thailand, so thought 'just go with it' despite really not being in the mood for it, especially after discovering the hostel I had booked on Hostelworld.com had been closed down. So had to pay for somewhere else to stay which turned out to be Golden Hill resort which wasn't too bad. It was a tree house style hostel own double room 2 nights 1000 baht. I followed a guy who wheeled my luggage in a wheelbarrow type contraption as there are no cars on Phi Phi. First thing I did was have something to eat, then I went and drank far too much in an irish bar and got hammered too early with 2 mancs so it was an early night! I was learning that they make their drinks potently strong so 3 blue lagoon cocktails was enough to send me over the edge! The Thais don't seem to believe in measuring the units of vodka...which is fine by me!!

Next day I was particularly interested in seeing the famous 'Beach' where Leonardo Dicaprio once lay/walked/ran on in that film, and as this is on Ko Phi Phi Leh (the main island where all the tourists are is Ko Phi Phi Don), the best way to do this was on a day trip around Ko Phi Phi. 500 baht was, as it turned out compared with prices in other parts of Thailand, was a very good price for a full day with lunch, water and light brekkie! We went to various places around Phi Phi which were all stunning. I floated on my back in the crystal clear warm sea whilst gazing all around me at the surrounding looming cliffs, saw the pirates cave (Viking Cave I think), Maya Bay where The Beach was filmed which was a bloody adventure in itself getting to the frigging thing! Because the boats aren't allowed in the bay (for being a national park - fair enough), it had to stop outside and we had to swim (well swim and snorkel which was lovely) to the steps leading to the pathway to Maya Bay. Now these steps were trecherous - being slammed into the rocks at the foot of the steps and not being able to escape from that with the force of the waves made me feel like I may die lol, and it bloody hurt, and if one of the other tourists hadn't held her hand out to grab me I may well have been stuck there! Then the steps were very slippery, and then the rocks on the other side of the steps bloody hurt as nobody had shoes (for having to swim from the boats) . But it was great! The beach itself was very very windy and the only way to escape the sand from stinging you from being blown was to stay in the bright blue sea, which was fine by me! It obviously aint as good as it looks on the film because of the ropes in the sea for keeping tourists 'where they should be' and obviously the prescence of other tourists, but it was still gorgeous.

Next stop was Monkey Beach which I was in awe of because I had never seen tame monkeys before and there were a lot of them on this beach. So monkey beach is actually a beach with monkeys on it, which took me by suprise. I have since learnt that I do not like monkeys - they are viscious and ungrateful! And they ruined my top in Bali.

Then Bamboo Island which I personally thought was stunning. Perfect for sunbathing and relaxing on, but the rocks under the water on the shore were horrible.

Then, in typical monsoon season style, it started pissing it down but we stopped at one more snorkelling spot (Shark Point) just after it stopped.

Overall a lovely day! Saw a sign at a restaurant saying '99 baht all you can eat buffet dinner' so I thought...I am going there tonight!

Went there, and I am pretty sure I ate cat. There are tons of them on the island so they are easily accessible..anyways this meat was like nothing I have ever eaten before, and the bones were
a Phi Phi baya Phi Phi baya Phi Phi bay

I floated on my back here looking up around me at the looming cliffs...bliss
small and wierd. I will never know though!

The reason I regretted buying my onward ticket from that awful man in Krabi was everyone else who was going to Ko Phangan had paid like 650 baht, whereas I had been suckered into paying 1450 baht!! Not a happy bunny not at all!! So people, avoid BLACK TIGER TOURS like the plague please! They prey on the vulnerable who have never been to Thailand and don't know what the relative costs are the buggers.




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Bamboo IslandBamboo Island
Bamboo Island

shortly after this the heavens opened luckily towards the end of the tour of Phi Phi
'The Beach''The Beach'
'The Beach'

me tryin to be a film star!


Tot: 4.51s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0211s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb