Jack Attacks and Ben Sows Wild Oats


Advertisement
Asia
April 10th 2010
Published: April 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ben and the MeatBen and the MeatBen and the Meat

Ben part of the meat section of a local market here in zhongshan
Hey there,

Time seems to be stuck on the light-speed setting for me. I know the next few months are going to disappear in a blur and soon I’ll be back in America. Already I know coming back will be more mentally discombobulating than coming here, but I’ll know for certain soon enough.

I’m trying to remind myself how much I wanted to write a blog, because I know in the future I’ll want to look back and enjoy these memories again. I do really do enjoy writing but I don’t like writing on the fly, or forcing myself. I like sitting down somewhere comfortable with hours of time and no pressure to finish quickly (never happens). I don’t like half writing a blog either, I just want to get it all out. A snapshot of who and where I was in that moment.

At the moment, I am rewriting half of this blog because I never bothered to post it to the internet. The coolest news in my life recently is I saw Ben Koffel. He stopped by on part of his amazing adventure around Asia. He has created one hell of a journey of which I
BrainBrainBrain

soft and gross
am terribly jealous. He has unbelievable stories and pictures galore that you'll have to ask him to retell. An interesting thing Ben told me that shouldn't have surpized me is he has friends all over Asia. He said he was trecking in a remote part of Thailand even the locals haven't heard of before and yet there is his buddy plantin beans and livin off the land.

We had a great time even in tiny ole Zhongshan, Mostly eating and getting cheap massages. Exchanging stories I now know about 20 new places I need to visit. He seemed IMPRESSED with how clean and organized China looked, ha... I can only imagine... Bali, Borneo, Sinapore, and places in between he's see it all. Really good to see a friendly face, and next up on the list is my sister Michelle who visits in two months. I have more visitors in China then when I lived in Wisconsin. But one visiter that won't be coming is Cody, MY dog back in toledo, that I have missed terribly.

In fact I have missed having a pet so terribly I bought a cat. Jackie.

Jack Attack is the funniest creature I
HaircuttingHaircuttingHaircutting

It will grow back
have ever lived with. He has cat toys but prefers to play with a crushed paper ball. He only drinks his water after he splashes it out of bowl and all over the apartment. He farts when he sleeps. He likes his dry cat food with hot water on top and if I don’t add the hot water he protests by kicking the food out of the bowl and all over the apartment. He snores when he sleeps. He doesn’t meow, he grunts. He spends hours chasing and subsequently hiding from invisible creatures hidden all over the apartment. He enjoys… licking himself, far too much. He rubs his butt against the wall and stares at me as if to say, “why aren’t you doing this?” In short I love him. I know my time with him will be short before I must give him away to my friend. But for now he is family.

Zhongshan weather has gotten warm again. The smells of the city changes when the weather gets really hot, it stinks. All the odors numbed in the chilly 60 degree weather are now ripening in the hot sun. It’s a mixture of fruit, oil, livestock, mold,
JackJackJack

doing something evil
smoke, BBQ pork, sewage, and paint or something. I don’t know exactly what the smell is, but its there, and its growing.

Speaking of not knowing. I ate something new. I thought I had seen it and eaten it all, but I was wrong. I was eating with Carmen at a place I always go (The place where we ate dumplings Ben). She had ordered the soup. She gave me some of the broth, it was absolutely delicious, reminded me of chicken dumpling stock my mom makes. The soup is kinda murky and I can’t really tell what is in the bowl so I ask Carmen, “what is it?” She quickly changes the subject “the weather got hot soo fast” I repeat “what is it?” “I don't know, what’s it matter?” “why won’t you tell me?” “its good for you, Guangdong medicine”. I grab the bowl and shovel a huge chunk of something onto my spoon. It becomes terrifyingly apparent I have been eating a brain. Pig brain to be precise. I was slightly embarrassed, I mean it was delicious, but I couldn’t bring myself to eat another bite. I just couldn’t do it, see the pictures.

Well
Jack 2 Jack 2 Jack 2

jackie beyond irrated thinking of ways to hurt me when I set him free
that’s life as I know it. McKinley you are missed beyond words, Eva get healthy, and Jackie stop passing gas. Thanks for visiting Ben it was fun, man zhou. Have a wonderful week. Zai Jian.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

catcat
cat

jackie
BenBen
Ben

Chillin at the crib
Playing aroundPlaying around
Playing around

local basketball courts
eggseggs
eggs

delicious
dumplingsdumplings
dumplings

delicious
BrainBrain
Brain

Oh yeah, bring it on
MassageMassage
Massage

Ben and I went for Massages of course
BenBen
Ben

Taking some time to relax
Chicken footChicken foot
Chicken foot

Trying to keep him healthy while overseas
Ben and IBen and I
Ben and I

Eating morning tea
HairwashHairwash
Hairwash

Plane Ticket to China: 1000 usd Authentic Chinese Hairwash: Priceless.. or actually about 3 usd
Carmen and ICarmen and I
Carmen and I

so I guess we arn't the same size huh
picturespictures
pictures

You need to thank Ben for all the stellars pictures, he took all of these, I just stole them before he left
Ben and IBen and I
Ben and I

We are eating sugarcane infront of a kungfu, a Chinese fast food joint
teachingteaching
teaching

here I am playing "english basketball" with two students
Ben TeachingBen Teaching
Ben Teaching

Ben you can pick up your check next week, you just have to appear in person to get it.


9th April 2010

My head still feels great
Nate- fabulous tour guide. I'll swing by to pick up the check real soon. Can I borrow $1,000? I'll pay you back in ten years.
9th April 2010

Hum...
Jackie!!! ^&^
9th April 2010

Nate, How great that you and Ben got to spend time together. That's so cool! I'm glad to see that even you finally have limits in terms of what you will eat! Pig brains.....tooooooo gross! I'm so glad you are continuing to do your blogs, they really allow us to have a glimpse of what life has been like for you. Stay safe, Ann
9th April 2010

I enjoyed your post. My blog is looking for travel photos, stories, accommodation reviews, and food reviews. If you have the time and have some to share, email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb