Me, the Top Judge in a Chefs Competition


Advertisement
Asia
December 4th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The view from my patioThe view from my patioThe view from my patio

Sorry guys, I know its freezing at home!!!!!
It had just dawned on me that for the first time since leaving the UK 4 months ago, that this was the first time l was on my own. I have been with many during my time at Campfire in South Africa. There were 6 of us during the teaching project in Himachal, India and 3 sunning ourselves in Goa. I also was in the company of 2 whilst we travelled Kerala. So my arrival in Sri Lanka was in itself my own journey and mine only.

The flight from Kerala was a quick hour during which time we were served a Meal and even a beer. The next minute l had passed through customs and free to explore this island. I had previously pre-booked a room via the internet so that l had a base to work from. Negombo was about 30 minutes north of the Airport along yellow sandy beaches and rocks. I found the Wind Mill Hotel and checked in. This is when l realised that pictures really can be touched up or made to look a million dollars.

During the last 4 months l have stayed in all types of accommodation ranging from home stays, caravans, friends houses, communal rooms and an array of hotel rooms. But looking at the shabby room l had booked l felt that a little luxury wouldn’t go a miss whilst l was on my own. So as it was still only early afternoon and the sun was shining, this was a first for a couple of weeks as in Kerala the weather had been quiet miserable. Walking along the beach front l based a few nice looking hotels and made some enquires as to rooms and their prices. These ranged from the affordable to ‘Who the hell has this amount of money’. This is where l came across ‘Seashells Hotel’ a very nice looking hotel complete with outdoor swimming pool and a relaxed atmosphere. The guy at reception was happy to show me around the hotel and its facilities.

This place would be a lot better especially being on my own. So within an hour l had picked my rucksack up from the other hotel about 10 minutes away and was sitting in the best hotel l had stayed in since leaving the UK 4 months ago. My room was on the ground floor with a patio straight onto the beach. Within 2 minutes of be being inside on my own l was straight in the shower having the best wash since staying at Dawn & Anneke’s in Pringle Bay, South Africa.

Time to Relax and enjoy the surroundings.

Other the next couple of days l enjoyed the surroundings and the facilities the hotel had to offer, so lazy mornings on my patio watching the Traditional Sri Lankan Fishing Boats not far from the shore or the wave of souvenir sellers that paraded the beach. Breakfast was a lavish affair with every possible delight ranging from the English, American, Continental and Sri Lankan breakfast. All displayed with fantastic colour and flair. During the afternoons l switched between pool and sea and then spending some much needed time reading, ok this is the first time in a long time that l have even had the time to read a book since leaving the project in Himachal.
I must tell you that l am reading a fantastic book called ‘Shantaram’ by Gregory David Roberts and would insist that many for you go out and get a copy. This has been a fantastic read. It’s about a true story of an Australian Convict that escapes prison and flees to India and lives amongst its people in Bombay.

The Right Place at the Right Time.

Thursday morning and as normal up early and after a hearty breakfast l made my way back to my room to ready myself for a day on the beach, on the right hand side from my patio is a small Fish Restaurant that forms part of the hotel complex. I noticed that is was a hive of activity with loads of Chefs running around. Curious of what was going on l grabbed my camera and headed for the Restaurant. In the Restaurant were many tables set up with groups of chefs cooking around them. One of the Managers of the hotel approached me and told me that there was a cooking competition going on between the hotels within its group. They had been given the task a couple of months before to go to small remote villages within Sri Lanka and uncover some of the forgotten cooking methods and dishes that were still being used in these villages. On a big projector screen in the corner they were showing some of the filming of these visits. During our conversation l was then introduced to the HR Director of the Company, and he asked me if l was interested in food. As many of you my know l was trained as a chef and of course was still interested in food. The delight of the guys face when l explained my previous jobs to him. Within 10 minutes l as being shown around and introduced to all the Head Chefs on each table and then the HR Director asked me if l would honour him by being the main judge for this competition.

So what would you do?

Of course l said yes and spent the next hour moving from table to table and asking the chefs about their findings in the villages and about some of the forgotten foods that they were using in the new menus. I looked closely to some strange and alien looking fruits and vegetable, touched and even tasted some of the nuts and fruits, not bad for someone that does not eat fruit at home. The time had come for the chefs to stop cooking and display their foods. It was now time for The HR Director, The Head of Hotel Operations and a Retired Chef that worked for the company for 20 years and myself to Taste the array of foods put before us. Tasting food can become hard work and it took us about an hour of tasting and talking about our findings to agree a winner.

The HR Director then assembled everyone back into the Restaurant and started a speech in Sri Lankan. Next thing l knew he was speaking in English and asking me to come forward and give a speech also. As l approached a microphone was placed in my hand and a hundred peering eyes placed upon me. I thanked everyone for the warm reception l had been given and the honour of being asked to judge such an occasion. I was then asked by the Director to proceed with given out our finding of the competition. I awarded 3rd, 2nd & 1st prizes with each of the teams coming forward and collecting their prizes. The Head of Hotel operations then joined me and thanked me for accepting the offer to judge for them and l was awarded with a bottle of Champagne and a huge bunch of Exotic Flowers that now fill my room. He then asked me to announce the overall winner of best dish in the competition. This l was really proud to give as this was to the very hotel l was staying in. They also had won 2nd prize in the whole competition too. Over the next hour or so l chatted to more of the chefs and we talked about where l had worked and about the travels l had done and the places l was yet to see. I finally left and made my way back to my room, with a full belly and memories of another great day.





Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Display of forgotten Vegatables from Sri LankaDisplay of forgotten Vegatables from Sri Lanka
Display of forgotten Vegatables from Sri Lanka

Many of these are now only found in remote villages
Getting ready to serve their MenuGetting ready to serve their Menu
Getting ready to serve their Menu

About 10 different hotels in the group had 2 hours to prepare and serve their menu
Green NutGreen Nut
Green Nut

The nut from this long forgotten plant is crushed and then made into a flour
Rice SteamerRice Steamer
Rice Steamer

In the Black pot is boiling water, the funnel is made of Bamboo and filled with a mixture of semi cooked rice and vegatables, the lid made of a coconut shell. This is steamed for about 20 minutes and the cylinder of rice is removed and cut


6th December 2008

Geoff, You are amazing!!! I can't believe you have been gone for 4 months already. You have packed so much into this venture already, can you imagine what's in store for you? It just gets better and better. Your blogs are so interesting and funny. I'm so fortunate through you to be a part of this. Thanx, Good Friend. Looking forward already to the time you will be with us. Love Al
6th December 2008

cold,freezing,pissing down here, and your pictures really are fab babe.beaches look fabulous as does the creativity but just wait til u get to thailand honey bye for now!!!!!!!!!
7th December 2008

I read your blogs with intrest every time they come through. I'm glad you are having such a fantastic time :)
11th December 2008

christmas dinner
As interesting as the food sounds you have just missed a treat, the firms christmas lunch complete with cabret from the spice girls no less!!!! It looks and sounds like you are having a fab time a Merry Christmas and take care Love Lelsey Osborn xxx
12th December 2008

4 months flys by
Cant believe the fun you are having and that 4 months have past already. Am loving your blogs but it's making me want to travel and escape Tesco.....especially as the xmas rush will some hit!!! Have a great Xmas and stay in touch
29th December 2008

Belated Happy Xmas!!!!!
Where did 4 months go??? Its all going on for me, work been mad, Natalie moved into new flat, Xmas to cater for, and she is now 10 days over due giving birth to 'Hollie Elizabeth' im desperate to meet her now. What a way to spend Xmas, like a scene from Master Chef! Your leaving a little legacy everywhere you go, like with us, you wont be forgotten. Happy New Year Mate. XXXXX

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb