In the dark streets of Battembang


Advertisement
Asia
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at 2am and started writing then got dressed at 4.45 to go out walking the dark and almost empty streets of Battembang. A few joggers and women picking up litter from the streets fronting the riverside only and then gradually more people appearing on bicycles on their way to work.


Sophat left yesterday morning to visit a friend about 100km away and I have spent the time deciphering my awful handwriting in order to catch up with blogging. (The entire day was spent either writing, typing on BB or engaged in conversation with a group of about seven employees, so now I can make jokes in Khmer too. I shared their food of green papaya salad with peanuts and chillies, eating out of a common bowl with chopsticks, then retired to my room after a photo session to write until 10pm.


The last time I was here I met and explored the region with a young Swedish couple. This was the beginning of my love affair with the motorbike, and we became a very close threesome (not that close). I have a sad feeling being here without them, with the adventures we had and long conversations late into the night from this very Hotel rooftop patio.


There's so much to stimulate my mind and senses that I think rarely of America. This may change when the Honeymoon screeches to an abrupt halt, and I would hope against hope that it doesn't.

Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb