Getting Started


Advertisement
Asia
July 6th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aberdeen HarbourAberdeen HarbourAberdeen Harbour

a view of the old and new while taking a trip in one of the tyre festooned sampans
We aren't very seasoned travellers nor are we "bloggers" but we thought it would be fun to set up a blog so family and friends can share our travel experiences with us while we are away this year. In 2006 we took our first overseas trip together ( Rob had previously been to Malaysia) - we did an organised tour of the south island of New Zealand then hired a car and travelled the north. Then in August 2007 I travelled with a group of girls to Hong Kong - where we took in the sights, Tai O Fishing Village, HK Disneyland, Big Budda etc and shopped until we dropped. We also did a day trip to Shenzhen ( an experience too long to write about here!! ) and another across to Macau. This year were had planned a road trip across to Western Australia but then plans changed and we are now going to Vietnam for 8 nights - 3 in Ho Chi Minh city (Saigon), 3 in Hoi An and 2 in Hanoi....a quick trip but still plenty of time to visit the major sights and take in the culture. We don't leave for a month but that gives
Tai O Tai O Tai O

this is one of my favourite images of Tai O fishing village this is one of the last places in Hong Kong where you can see the traditional stilt housing
me time to give this blogging thing a practise run and work out how to upload photos - no point sharing the trip with you if I don't have photos LOL! - so be patient with me - I am a learner but hopefully I will get the hang of this and you will get to enjoy our trip with us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Big BuddaBig Budda
Big Budda

This bronze statue on Lantau Island is 26m ( 85ft ) high.
Travel MatesTravel Mates
Travel Mates

most of the HK girls and I crossing the border into China
ShenzhenShenzhen
Shenzhen

inside Luo Hu Commercial City - oh boy! was shopping here an experience!
MacauMacau
Macau

Ruinas de Sao Paulo - all that remains of Macau's grandest church that caught fire in 1835 during a massive typhoon...it was raining will I was there too but I still managed to photograph the sight I so wanted to see.


6th July 2008

Looking good!
Can't wait to read about your travels in Vietnam.
6th July 2008

Looks great
What a great idea. It looks good, and I have even subscribed to it, so I get an email whenever you leave a new post ;)
7th July 2008

WOW!!
Can't wait to see the great photos and hear all about your adventures in Vietnam. This will be just like carrying your suitcase, may be not LOL!!
15th March 2009

Very Cool! I'm impressed and wish I had thought about that before going to Vietnam. Have you posted photos and commentary of Vietnam. I can't find it if you have! Thanks,

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb