konnichiwa!


Advertisement
Asia
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!
I am in Tokyo right now- this is such an amazing place!!!
I have been wondering around on my own, finding my way, making friends, navigating the metro system. I feel like I own the place. Everyone is very helpful although very few people speak English. But I have been doing a lot of pointing and bowing. That gets me very far.
I met a guy today on the street and ended up spending several hours talking with him over drinks. His name is Kama Sywor Kamanda. He was born in the Congo, but is of Bantu-Egyptian origin.
He studied literature, journalism, political science, philosophy and law, and worked in journalism. In 1970, he helped create the Union of Congolese Writers. He was forced to leave the Congo in 1977 due to his political activities, and then he moved Luxembourg. He became the president of the African Association of Writers and has published many books of poetry and novels. He travels all throughout the world writing about racism, exile, Africa, and love. He is one of the most interesting people I have ever met.
Japan is a truly fascinating place! It is full of contradictions- old traditionalism and conservatism meets modernity and liberalism. People who are very polite and etiquette concious during the day get rip-roaring drunk at night and let out their true feelings, only to go back to being orderly and controlled by morning. Tokyo is more of a fashion capital than New York. Everyone looks like they have just stepped off the runwalk. People are so fashionable- but you can see people sporting the lastest couture next to people with Kimonos.
The Japanese are a very CLEAN people. The cabs and trains are very clean. A cleaning crew actually gets on board to clean a train before the next wave of people gets on board. The toilets are my favorite part of Japan. They have seat warmers and deoderizers and butt cleaners and dryers and they play music to drown out the sound of you doing your business. I think I might try to bring one home.
The food is amazing! They eat sushi for breakfast! The portions are a lot smaller than in America and you take off your shoes and eat on the floor in many places.
Today I went to a museum and shrine that honor the soldiers in all of Japan's wars. The museum tells a very one-sided account of Japan's history. The rape of Nanking is called the "China Incident." They actually state that the massacre never really happened. Every country holds dear to its myths.
Anyway, this place is so exciting!
Miss you all and can't wait to see you!
Sayonara for now!



Advertisement



3rd July 2007

Great Blog
Stephanie, nice to hear from you in Japan. Great blog. Would love to see some photos. All the best, Howie R.
4th July 2007

You are the coolest!
I am so proud of you! You sound like you're having the greatest time! I want a toilet that plays music. Cole and Jonah will get one like that before we ever do! Miss you so much!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb