Hole in the wall


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shibuya
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Japan is so amazing! The people are very friendly! All you have to do is look confused and stare at a map for more than a minute and someone will be along to help you find your way. Granted there is a slight communication barrier, but I have had people draw elaborate maps for me. Yestarday I was walking around in the rain and a man came up to me and gave me his umbrella. He said "You no get wet, you no get wet."
The Japanese are not just people friendly either. They are also very eco-friendly. They actually just created an entire hybrid train! Very few people smoke here (you can't even smoke on most streets) and no one talks in the cell phone. They actually aren't allowed to talk on it is most places so they text each other. Everyone is very quiet. Even the babies are quieter than American babies. Especially my American baby. I wonder if these traits are learned or in-born?
They aren't always quiet though. In some restuarants they yell at you when you come in and the chefs yell as they cook- and sometimes they cook right in front of you. Last night I met up with a friend of a friend who lives here. She is from Australia orginially and now she works for the Australian embassy in Japan. She took me to a restaurant where we had to climb to the fourth floor of a building and go around a secret passageway and then there was a wall that looked like a regular wall. She nocked three times and a man opened a very very little door in the wall. The door was hidden- so I didn't even know it was a door. The door came up to my torso so I had to crawl to get inside the door. The inside was a really cute little restuarant.
I went to another restuarant that just serves sushi where you sit down and the plates are on a conveyer belt in front of you. You just take a the plates that look good as they pass by you.
I am learning so much here- so much about the Japanese people, so much about the American people, and so much about myself. I love that I am learning to naviagate the city by myself. I usually depend on Carlo, or my dad, or Uncle Howard or Uncle Carl. I just follow. Here I have had to figure it all out own my own. ANd I am loving it! You would be proud!
Anyway- I'm off to have more adventures. Thanks for reading my blog!
I will post pictures later.
Chow!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb