Aloha, Hawaii


Advertisement
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hawaii smells like flowersHawaii smells like flowersHawaii smells like flowers

And it's no wonder- they are everywhere.
Well, my vacation in Paradise is over. I hope to return to Hawaii one day. It really would be a perfect place to live. It is missing something important though. My friends, family, and pets. So... if only I could convince everyone to move with me I would be very happy. So, think about it. Let me know later.
Since the last journal entry I went to the North Shore. It is where the show Lost is filmed. We didn't see any of the actors though. We walked through the town and ate lunch at a very sweet Thai restaurant. There is a lot of diversity in Hawaii. I really don't feel like it is part of the U.S. There is a very strong Hawaiian culture here too. People are reclaiming their heritage. You can see it in the dress, food, songs, and customs. Hawaii is caught between past and present. There is a suspicion of industry and modernization. There is a peacefullness and simplicity that rejects all of the sideeffects of industrialization, mechanization, and American imperialism. The people here are very special. I am so glad I got to learn about this amazing place and its people. You should really go to Hawaii if you get the chance. We could all use the rest, relaxation, and return to nature.
Mahalo (thanks in Hawaiian) for reading my blog!
Aloha!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



2nd March 2006

pondering the meaning of life
You REALLY look like a professor in that picture! I can't get over the beauty of Hawiaii. I hope I get there someday (on a super fast plan, no turbulence, non-stop, served lots of ice cream and all expense paid).
15th June 2006

Hey Professor Sena I finally completed my blog. Darnell Haloha!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb