The Start of A New Adventure- Ho Chi Minh


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
August 27th 2011
Published: August 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

HK airportHK airportHK airport

Transfer in HK
The first few weeks in HCMC have been great. It is hot and tropical...how can you go wrong with palm trees everywhere?!
It took me about a week to find an apartment, after looking at about 20 different places. I finally found one on the top floor of the building. It has a nice outdoor terrace, 2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, living area, dining area, laundry area and is uniquely decorated. It has some nice touches like 11 feet ceilings, brick and stained glass. As well as 2 floors, the upper floor being my bedroom. I definitely lucked out!
The people are friendly and willing to help out where possible.
The cost of living is pretty affordable, especially when a beer is about $1.00 US.
I am a fan of the Tiger beer and Fosters.

When I arrived and friend of a friend introduced me to the downtown and was a huge help finding different items for my apartment, etc.
I was even invited to his family's home downtown for a traditional Vietnamese dinner. This was by far the coolest thing to be included in.

Other than that, I wanted to share some photos with everyone who has been waiting!
More to come 😊





Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mexican restaurantMexican restaurant
Mexican restaurant

Dinner with Jamie downtown
Massage during dinnerMassage during dinner
Massage during dinner

Downtown there are street sellers that come up to your table while you are eating.
My roomMy room
My room

looking at the apartment for the first time.
My roomMy room
My room

Shower and sink are behind the divider
Grandma's houseGrandma's house
Grandma's house

Traditional furniture in the entry way


27th August 2011

Awesome!!!!
Great PICS! Your classroom looks fabulous. Your place fantastic and YOU look terrific. Good to see you have settle in so quickly and all is good. Keep the pics coming. Miss you, Fran
28th August 2011

Great start for the next Book!
Looks like you have settled right in. great pictures. Keep the entries coming.
29th August 2011

Wholly HO Chi Minh
WOW ! Can hardly wait to come visit you. Looks awesome G ! Classroom is A+ keep the postings coming. Dad
4th September 2011

Hi from Cambridge
Love you honey!
9th September 2011

Coming to Vietnam!
Hopefully going to be in Binh Duong, about 30km North of you, in a few weeks time. Look forward to reading your blog on Vietnam and seeing what your experience there is compared to mine!
13th September 2011

Wow!
Pictures are terrific & sure look forward to Skyping again. I noticed the second bedroom already had my name on it! Enjoy every moment Genelle. Susan

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb