Here in Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

White RosesWhite RosesWhite Roses

A local dish of shrimp wrapped in rice paper - yummy
Well as you can see from today's title we have moved on...but before I tell you about that. I have some more scooter shenanigans to report.....yep I'm obsessed. I just find the amount of scooter traffic unbelievable - I don't think there are are any road rules here, or if they are, they are not obeyed. We have rarely seen anyone stop for a traffic light, and roundabouts are unreal, it seems you can enter at any time from any direction. There are pedestrian crossings but no-one and I mean no-one gives way to a pedestrian - you just walk across the road taking your life in your own hands and the scooters and even cars just dodge you. Would you believe it if I told you, I have now done it many times - yes my darling daughters I have walked right out in front of the traffic with out holding anyone's hand - how's that for me???!!! Today on the way to the airport to fly to Danang I think I saw the most courageous Mum ever, here she was on the back of a scooter breast feeding her baby ( about 6mths ) in peak hour traffic, which is something like 60 million scooters on the road at once. One of our guides told has public transport should improve things, but every time land is set aside for a "metro" the government changes their mind and builds something else. Oh, and one more thing, push bikes ride around in this traffic too - they don't wear helmets nor do they have lights at night. Anyway, enough scooter talk for tonight. Today we have flown to Danang - 4th biggest city in Vietnam and used by the American's in the war as a base - China Beach is on the outskirts. We were picked up from there and driven to our resort at Hoi An. This area is a popular tourist haunt - it is low season but still busy and it is 36oC but feels twice as hot. We headed into the town centre late afternoon and hit the tailor shops which is what everyone is suppose to do when they come here. Rob is having a suit made and I have had a formal dress for each for the girls designed after I gave them their measurements. This was another amazing experience picking out fabric, flicking through fashion magazines etc etc. They were ordered at 5pm tonight and will be ready for pickup after 4pm tomorrow. We didn't really get to tour the town much - that is tomorrows adventure as is a visit to the orphanage here. Well, best be off - need a swim or something to cool down - we are sweltering.

Advertisement



23rd August 2008

Shopping fun
I look forward to seeing your new outfits . . . what fun is that . . . designing the shopping :)
23rd August 2008

Great to be reading and seeing what you two are up to! We have had icy wind this week, but no rain, so hope you are enjoying the heat! It is a real cold snap here. Hope you both continue to enjoy your trip. Hope you are getting some shots with you in the photos Chris! Safe travelling. Carolyn xx
23rd August 2008

What fun!
I can't wait to see how the dresses turn out. The White Rose dish looks yummy!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb