Clothes, coffee, and craters


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tickle tickle!Tickle tickle!Tickle tickle!

The japanese covered bridge was finished in the year of the monkey and, appropriately so, there is a monkey at the end of the bridge. He likes it when I tickle him...
Hoi An! Hooray!

I loved this place! The hotel was friendly and the town was walkable. I was just about 10 minutes away from this little clothing shop who could make anything I could think of. Unfortunately, I left my fashion friend, Christie, at home so I just picked three things that I thought would be okay.... Regardless, it was cheap and done under 12 hours.

I hope I'm not condoning a sweat shop here.... but you walk into these shops with wall to wall fabric in every material, color, pattern, etc. You can sit and look through catalogs and pick anything that you want these shop owners to copy and they can do it. It was overwhelming for a person who can't choose what color flip flops to wear with her jeans and tank top. But fun.


Onward from my fashion hoopla. I also saw My Son. Which means 'pretty mountain' in Vietnamese. Or something to that effect- anyway it is a spiritual site from the 4th century and was a Cham dynasty capital. The main tower, which was about 75 feet tall, was destroyed in the late 60's by US bombers in the Vietnam
My SonMy SonMy Son

Ancient town
war. You can still see bomb craters all around the site.

Walking around town was also very entertaining- lots of shops and bars and eateries to look at. There was a Japanese covered bridge that was very pretty. It had a stone monkey in it so I liked it immediately.

There was also a coffee shop I fell in love with. They bring out your own personal little coffee maker.

Okay- halfway thorough Vietnam! Only HoChiMinh left!

Right now we are getting ready to leave Sydney and head to New Zealand for an 11 day race around the islands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My Son IIMy Son II
My Son II

Ancient stone horse. Giddy up
Clothes!Clothes!
Clothes!

I had some things made and this is one of them. Now that I have them out of the shop, I don't like them anymore.
Monkey bridgeMonkey bridge
Monkey bridge

This is the side of the bridge. Can you see me inside tickling the monkey?
Coffee!Coffee!
Coffee!

Nothing like a really fresh cuppa joe


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb