Mom and dad save the day!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chalong
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last beach...Last beach...Last beach...

My mom loved the rip curl!
Mom and Dad whisk me away...

Away from the Thai house and school, away from the backpackers' hostels and shoestring lifestyle. Time for the 5 star hotels and room service and air conditioning and hot showers! Plus I had a whole month's salary to burn in 10 days before I left the country. This was going to be fun.

I haven't seen them in ages and I get to the hotel early to check in. It's SongKran- Thai New Year- on the day they arrive so it's very hectic because the entire island turns into a water war. It was a big day. I wait for about an hour in the lobby and finally see my mom's little blond head bobbing up the stairs. Yay! They're here!

We hug and mom cries and we get to our rooms. The adventure begins, again.

Our rooms are nicely appointed and we throw our things down and head to the pool for drinks and lunch. It was so weird to have mom and dad in my little network on this part of the world. And so nice to have them see what I've been doing and how I've been
Family reunionFamily reunionFamily reunion

This is our hotel and where I met my folks
living.

It's one thing to describe things like the upsidedown shower I have to use and hear about he geko shit lining the perimeter of the walls. But actually seeing it and knowing your daughter lived there is completely different. Or so my mom said- she looked slightly shocked and didn't seem to dissapointed to leave my house after I had packed my things.

We lounged by the beach most days. My mom and dad know how to do the beach right. Beers and inner tubes and floats. It sire beats floating willy-nilly n the sea and just drinking water.

For two days we took time off the sand to go sightseeing- one day we had a driver take us around the island. We saw the pier, the lookout points, the main beaches, the town. Basically everything. It was nice to see it in a car and not on a motorbike.

One day we went around and did a “Day in the Life” tour of where I lived and what I did for almost a year. They saw my house, school, met roommates and ate my favorite meal at my favorite cafe. This would be the
I am woman hear me roar..I am woman hear me roar..I am woman hear me roar..

Mom and I roar like a T-rex at the Dino park
last time I would see these people and go to these places. Sad! But after just a few days with the western lifestyle (they had hash browns at breakfast! And newspapers in English- how long has it been since I've read one of those!) I was already looking forward to getting a move on back in the direction of home.

On one mare day we went on a little cruise around the Andaman Sea and saw the place of the Beach movie (Maya Bay) and 007 James Bond island and went to Kai Island- my favorite- with fantastic snorkeling and beautiful water.

Mostly we just laid around the beach and floated on our little inner tubes when it was too hot to be outta water.

We shopped a lot and ate a lot and caught up on everything from the last year.

We saw the Phuket FantaSea- a theater/circus show that was amazing! Trapeze artists and elephants and magic tricks and the whole bit. The whole show itself lasts about an hour and a half, but there is a massive buffet dinner first and elephant rides and amusement park things.

It was an amazing end
Kata ViewKata ViewKata View

Dad and I at eh Kata overlook on the rainy day tour o' the isle
to an amazing time in Thailand. When I was a kid, Annie was my favorite movie and in the end after she was reunited with her family there was a circus with elephants and shows and rides. I felt like Annie. All I needed was to have my name written in the sky with fireworks...

Sa-wa-dee-ka and ka-phoon-ka!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

FantaSeaFantaSea
FantaSea

This is part of the theme park we visited- the massive buffet is right thru the doors
Saddle upSaddle up
Saddle up

Mom really wanted to ride the elephant, so I had to endulge her....
Dinner timeDinner time
Dinner time

You know how moms are- always wanting to feed everyone. Here is the lil' lady feeding the elephant at the Monkey Bar
Drinks and DinnerDrinks and Dinner
Drinks and Dinner

Us at a beach bar the first night
Table kegs and BBQTable kegs and BBQ
Table kegs and BBQ

Here we are at the BBQ- we got a free tote bag with our massive beer. Momma didn't like the raw meat 'cook yourself' niche place....
Cooked MeatCooked Meat
Cooked Meat

the other kind of BBQ!
Maya BayMaya Bay
Maya Bay

You can just see Leo jumping off the cliff
last sunsetlast sunset
last sunset

Our last sunset in Siam


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb