Snorkeling in Koh Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Snorkeling in Koh Tao

Okay- so here we are in Koh Tao- a short ferry ride from Samui and a little smaller of an island and is known for it's fantastic diving. In fact, some hotels (and I use that term loosely) only allow divers to stay there or offer free rooms to divers who will pay for dives with the hotels' company.

'Hotels' also publish if they have all night electricity too. This is a small island. It is also my favorite little beach community.

We went snorkeling on a tour and it was pretty good. We swam with sharks and with lot's of little blue striped fish. I like stripes so this was good. The boat was friendly and we met the Marks- two smart kids from Columbia and MIT- Stanford might have been thrown in there at some point... All I remember is that one of them had to leave the bar for about an hour to take a conference call with the governor about global warming or something along those lines... They were interesting kiddos and unfortunately I didn't feel well the night we met up with them so I had to cut
Under the SeaUnder the SeaUnder the Sea

Isn't it pretty!
the night short.

And yes. They were both named Mark.

There was this one gorgeous island our boat took us to that had a sand bar connecting two little snorkel hot spots. It looked fabulous and had I not been so consumed and brainwashed by the Britney Spears cd on repeat from the cabana bar I might have gone to the view point to get a photo.

And you could sit at a bar on one end of the beach and see fire dancers all the way down to the other end. It was lovely.

Alright- well it is my bed time here in KL. I'll update Bangkok and Vietnam later this week. And my mom and dad spent about 12 days in Phuket so I have some stories there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Snorkel PlaceSnorkel Place
Snorkel Place

This was really pretty- two islands joined by a sand bar. You could walk up to a lookout point for a good pic, but we opted for beers at the cabana...


24th April 2007

tired
Its 5 am, I am going into five surgeries today, and am in a placed called Vertigo... Your pics look lovely!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb